We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£94
Expedia.com
£89
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£80
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
343
94
33
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
343
94
33
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel florence arms mercer collection lovely hotel superior suite mercer group parking permit gastro pub off road parking a lovely stay lovely room poached eggs definitely stay here again stayed for one night excellent breakfast southsea seafront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2023 via mobile

Friendly welcome, lovely comfortable& spacey bedroom, breakfast was really nice quality food! All the staff were friendly& attentive. Very good value for money. The hotel is situated in a very handy area for walks on the sea front& parks, we ate in the Florence pub over the road from the hotel is really quality food& service, I believe is owned by hotel, highly recommend homemade cooking!

Room tip: Parking isn’t great,having to pay for off road parking is only down side..
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Curiosity48823251139
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2023 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night. Cannot praise this hotel enough. Arrived early to be told our room was ready. Super room. Cooked breakfast was just enough. Most of all the staff, of which there seemed to be lots, were friendly and attentive. Would not hesitate to book again and recommend to anyone travelling to Portsmouth.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank E5219PFterryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here for our Anniversary. My husband advises me that Mia was very helpful with the room booking. The room was gorgeous and comfortable with a lovely big bath.
The area was very quiet, which we didn’t really expect, and it was a a couple of minutes from the sea front.
Breakfast was delicious, and staff were very friendly and helpful, whilst being very busy.
A parking space was booked, so there was no problem with parking.
We will definitely be returning.

Room tip: Book parking if you need it
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank plb113
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2023

Wardrobe doesn't shut properly, marks in bathroom, mire annoying didn't realise what a pain parking was going to be and also restaurant across the road. £100 happy breakfast was lovely but had to ask for toast and in the conservatory so would get extremely hot. Just paid £81 for lovely hotel in Bristol, breakfast wasn't included but £12 each so still much better value and bathroom stunning.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alisonkX3991SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Hello again Alison, this review was left, and responded to, from another of your tripadvisor profiles back in May. We're sorry you felt the need to post again. Best wishes, Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2023

Our stay here was ok but we feel there are just a couple of things where it falls short of the 'Luxury Boutique' label and makes it a wee bit overpriced.
We were able to park fairly near to the hotel in one of the residential streets and were given a resident's parking permit, which is good for city accommodation.
The breakfast menu is wide and varied. The food is good and the staff friendly. Breakfast is not served on site but is literally just across the road.
The room was ok, but it is here that the Somerset does not quite reach the 'luxury boutique' claim. The room isn't massive but is clean and has enough space to not feel cramped. The bed is comfortable and the linen clean. The towels could do with replacing as they are not the thick, soft luxury you would expect for a £165 a night room. The coffee would benefit from an upgrade and the television is on the small side for a luxury room. The bathroom is small but nicely done and has a large, powerful shower - tick. Unfortunately, the toiletries were so watery that they just didn't do the job and we had to buy our own - not what you expect from luxury boutique accommodation.
Our stay here wasn't 'bad' by any means but we feel that charging 'luxury boutique' prices, then everything in the room should meet 'luxury boutique' standards. We are fully aware that Portsmouth is a city and tourist destination so hotels might be more expensive, but so is Edinburgh guests pay a lot less for a lot more.
We would pay £120 -130 for this room but £165 has left us feeling a bit short-changed to be honest.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andreaduane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review us and your excellent comments about parking, breakfast and the staff.

We're sorry you didn't like your room. As you didn't feed anything back during the stay we aren't quite sure which you stayed in or indeed when but we'll certainly address what we can from these comments. We are moving to in-house laundering of towels in the coming weeks to ensure our offering is thick and fluffy as we like them to be and will certainly review the toiletries. Regarding the coffee we had moved to Clipper coffee but following feedback have returned to a standard, more common brand people seem to recognise and rate!

We're sorry you felt the price was just slightly above what you wished to pay. Of course we can't be sure as we can't locate your booking but we would hazard a guess this was a stay booked via a third party which is always more expensive. A directly booked room with the hotel often offers a saving on the room rate plus more flexible terms and upgrade options.

We hope you'll try us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews