We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Retreat Guest House
Ranked #20 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Although we had a little trouble finding it (our fault) it was well worth the delay. Sian and Mark and SOOOOO lovely and they make you feel right at home immediately. The rooms are lovely, the general areas are comfy and breakfast was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and the distance from town was within walking distance if you want to walk off your breakfast. Parking in Portsmouth is horrendous so we walked every time - except at night as it was a bit cold. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

This B&B is lovely. We were welcomed into our room well before the official check-in time, which allowed us to get an extra half-day of sightseeing in. Sian & Mark made sure we had everything we needed, including maps showing where everything was, and helping us get the taxi for our early morning ferry.

Our room was quite large, with a bathroom that had two sinks, a tub and a walk-in shower.

The location was good, and we were able to walk to all the tourist attractions.

I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This B&B is amazing - it should really be called a boutique hotel. Both Mark & Sian are very welcoming. The B&B is beautiful with lovely stained glass windows. Breakfast is extremely good and location is excellent. The B&B was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Very beautiful house, very well placed, very good breakfast and, above all, extremely kind housekeepers.

Neus (from Barcelona)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Perfect for wandering around Portsmouth by foot. Plenty of parking. Large rooms and bathrooms. Very pleasant hosts who whip up a terrific breakfast. The quiet was wonderful to the point that squabbling seagulls one night was a major event. We stayed in the Franklin room which was very large. If you have mobility issues you might look at the room which has a shower stall as the bath/ Jacuzzi in the Franklin is a bit difficult to get in and out due to its height from the floor. Very comfortable bed which enabled me to deal with exhaustion from walking / sightseeing and walking /shopping and generally walking. Mark recommended the A Bar Bistro for dinner and it was excellent. And yes we walked there too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veryfrequentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Lovely old house, with large rooms and high ceilings. We found it easy to walk to the seashore and to the Dockyards. All level walking. Host were cheerful and helpful. Lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ooradol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Arrived to a very happy greeting - set the tone for the duration of our stay with friends
Booked two rooms - quite different but individually outstanding
After our Saturday afternoon out we were welcomed with freshly brewed pots of tea and homemade cake
Sian recommended a lovely bistro within walking distance for our Saturday night out - up to expectation
For Sunday breakfast we were joined by our daughter and her boyfriend - again made very welcome by our hosts.
Faultless - would recommend to everyone who appreciates feeling home from home.
Sian and Mark genuinely make you feel like going back when in the area

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.9 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,272 reviews
4.2 mi away
G! Boutique Hotel
G! Boutique Hotel
#2 of 34 in Portsmouth
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Ship Leopard Hotel
The Ship Leopard Hotel
#7 of 34 in Portsmouth
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esk Vale Guest House
Esk Vale Guest House
#9 of 34 in Portsmouth
94 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pier
The Pier
#4 of 34 in Portsmouth
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Guest House

Address: 35 Grove Road South | Southsea, Hants, Portsmouth PO5 3QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range: £80 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II listed building in the heart of Southsea’s conservation area, this Victorian house has been extensively modernised and now offers contemporary comforts whilst retaining its original character.Carefully restored and sensitively refurbished, this beautiful original Victorian building now houses 4 spacious en suite rooms, each of which is individually designed in a unique boutique style. Every stylish and attractive room features great modern comforts and facilities, including LCD flat-screen TVs, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. A generous full cooked English breakfast is included in the price and is complemented by fresh cafetière coffee and speciality teas.The Retreat Guest House offers the best of all worlds: beautiful period character and charm, alongside contemporary comforts and amenities. The guest house also has a superb location, tucked away in a quiet street in the heart of Southsea, close to all that the area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Retreat Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing