We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Retreat Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Retreat Guest House
Ranked #14 of 33 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“So much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We only spent a night here but Sian & Mark were wonderful. They went above & beyond in an effort to welcome you & nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the Ward Suite, lovely big room with big bathroom en suite. I probably had one of the the best nights sleep ever the bed was comfy. I did however find a couple of hairs in the bathroom but didn't have the heart to complain as it seemed so picky as everything else was such a delight. Would definitely stay here again & no doubt will do when visiting Pompey in the future, as after being so spoilt here can see us wanting to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
106
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We spent one night at the Retreat prior to our short break on the Isle of Wight and couldn't have asked for a better start to our holiday. We stayed in the Franklin Suite, what an absolutely gorgeous room, four poster bed, super bathroom, freeview tv, free wifi, a real home from home. Mark, the owner, was very helpful about recommending somewhere to eat and what local sights to see, (walking distance to both the Gunwarfe Quays and Historic Dockyard). He also cooked us a superb breakfast! The use of a parking permit was much appreciated and Mark was happy to let us continue to park after we had checked out, as our ferry to the Isle of Wight wasn't until 1pm, which meant we could continue to sight see around the local area without having to pay for parking. This lovely guest house deserves all the fantastic reviews, it's highly recommended by us and if we're ever staying near there again, we wouldn't hesitate to return. Thanks!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gentbrugge
Level Contributor
283 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

The guest house is located only a few minutes on foot from the town centre. It is a beautiful house which has been transformed in a wonderful B&B by Sian and Mark. Let me say that they are great hosts and very helpful. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. There is free wifi in every room. Breakfast is very good. There is a good choice of cereal, eggs, fruit....
If you are planning a trip to Portsmouth definitely check out The Retreat

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

10/10! Of all of our UK accommodation, this was by far our favourite! Wish we could have stayed longer. Firstly, we had a change in our itinerary early on and had to change our dates. Sian and mark were very kind with this inconvenience and in accommodating us. They were the perfect hosts in the most perfect B&B. The house is just beautiful, with all of it original detailing and trimmings. Every room was gorgeous. We stayed in the Cooper Room, which was decorated beautifully. There was free wifi, complimentary bottled water and biscuits with your tea and coffee, which were nice touches. Another aspect I really enjoyed was the information about the history of the house. In the booklet in our room were the details and history of the house, such as previous owners and what they used the house for, and even information on why the name had been given to the particular room we were staying in. Very interesting. Breakfast was wonderful too! Amongst other things, Sian had a great selection of gourmet mueslis, as well delicious individual fruit platters. Her full English breakfast was scrumptious!! There was clearly a significant effort put into the food preparation and presentation, which did not go unnoticed! Thank you for a wonderful stay... Could not fault The Retreat one bit. Perfection!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phili22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Although we had a little trouble finding it (our fault) it was well worth the delay. Sian and Mark and SOOOOO lovely and they make you feel right at home immediately. The rooms are lovely, the general areas are comfy and breakfast was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and the distance from town was within walking distance if you want to walk off your breakfast. Parking in Portsmouth is horrendous so we walked every time - except at night as it was a bit cold. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This B&B is lovely. We were welcomed into our room well before the official check-in time, which allowed us to get an extra half-day of sightseeing in. Sian & Mark made sure we had everything we needed, including maps showing where everything was, and helping us get the taxi for our early morning ferry.

Our room was quite large, with a bathroom that had two sinks, a tub and a walk-in shower.

The location was good, and we were able to walk to all the tourist attractions.

I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

This B&B is amazing - it should really be called a boutique hotel. Both Mark & Sian are very welcoming. The B&B is beautiful with lovely stained glass windows. Breakfast is extremely good and location is excellent. The B&B was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.6 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Guest House

Property: The Retreat Guest House
Address: 35 Grove Road South | Southsea, Hants, Portsmouth PO5 3QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II listed building in the heart of Southsea’s conservation area, this Victorian house has been extensively modernised and now offers contemporary comforts whilst retaining its original character.Carefully restored and sensitively refurbished, this beautiful original Victorian building now houses 4 spacious en suite rooms, each of which is individually designed in a unique boutique style. Every stylish and attractive room features great modern comforts and facilities, including LCD flat-screen TVs, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. A generous full cooked English breakfast is included in the price and is complemented by fresh cafetière coffee and speciality teas.The Retreat Guest House offers the best of all worlds: beautiful period character and charm, alongside contemporary comforts and amenities. The guest house also has a superb location, tucked away in a quiet street in the heart of Southsea, close to all that the area has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing