We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay at this lovely guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Retreat Guest House
Ranked #15 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Super stay at this lovely guesthouse”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Tell you what, the photos on the website don't lie! We stayed in the Emmanuel suite which was a beautiful luxurious blue room. The whole house is absolutely stunning.

Sian and Mark made us most welcome and were very informative on the best places to visit. The guest house is well located for shopping, the beach and Gunwharf quays. We went everywhere and did a lot of walking!

Mark's cooked breakfast was very tasty and I really appreciated the veggie sausages and the fried bread cut into fish shapes, scrum!

Definitely visiting this guesthouse again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
106
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the the retreat for 2 nights. All the reviews are true. If your looking for a guest house in Portsmouth this is an excellent choice.
The owners were welcoming and helpful, without being overbearing.
The room was huge, well appointed and immaculately clean. Nice well cooked breakfast. One of the best guest house experiences I've had in the uk.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This place is great! Rooms are large and nicely decorated, big beds and nice soft bed sheets and pillows.
Breakfast is good too, nice selection of cereal and hot food made to order by the host couple. I would definitely recommend this guest house to someone wanting a home from home experience whilst they're staying in Portsmouth.
My only small issue was with parking, they do have permits for you to use on the street outside, but it's often busy and difficult to find a space very close.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The retreat guest house is a great place to stay if you are looking for a friendly, welcoming, comfortable and relaxing guest house. I only stayed for one night unfortunately but it was one of the best nights in a hotel I have enjoyed. The owners are approachable and accommodating. The rooms are immaculately turned out and the beds extremely comfortable. Special mention for the pillows which are like what clouds look like they should feel like. Surprisingly quiet street, and my room Even had a blackout blind so the sun didn't wake me. Short walk into the centre for dinner. Really lovely place to spend the night. 10/10!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daffsnewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Definately a luxury guest house. Stayed for 3 nights beginning of Feb stayed in the "Franklin Suite" such a lovely comfortable room very comfy bed and very quiet. Really lovely breakfast. Felt very welcome. Ideal position near Gunwarth Quays shops and Naval dockyards. Mark and Sian are a great couple very freindly gave us lots of good imformation. Definately would return. Dont bother trying any where else.

Room Tip: The Franklin suite is at the back of the house its very quiet. to be honest is a quiet area any way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I would reccommend anyone to stay at this beautiful guest house where every detail has been taken care of . The owners make you feel so welcome and the breakfast is superb . Well done and keep up the excellent work .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Nice little find, very central to all attractions. Gentle 20 min walk to Gunwharf Quays & the Naval Dockyard, 5 mins to Southsea shopping area & seafront. No problem with road parking as nice quiet area. We were given a car parking permit by Sian & the car stayed put for the 3 days.
A lovely character building with such an interesting history. The breakfast room is nice & bright. You must try the omelette's, very light & flavoursome.
This guest house has been lovingly restored, not over the top but tasteful & simple. Good variety of eating places in walking distance.
We would definitely consider returning here in the future.You won't find a more helpful & informative couple.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Guest House

Property: The Retreat Guest House
Address: 35 Grove Road South | Southsea, Hants, Portsmouth PO5 3QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II listed building in the heart of Southsea’s conservation area, this Victorian house has been extensively modernised and now offers contemporary comforts whilst retaining its original character.Carefully restored and sensitively refurbished, this beautiful original Victorian building now houses 4 spacious en suite rooms, each of which is individually designed in a unique boutique style. Every stylish and attractive room features great modern comforts and facilities, including LCD flat-screen TVs, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. A generous full cooked English breakfast is included in the price and is complemented by fresh cafetière coffee and speciality teas.The Retreat Guest House offers the best of all worlds: beautiful period character and charm, alongside contemporary comforts and amenities. The guest house also has a superb location, tucked away in a quiet street in the heart of Southsea, close to all that the area has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing