We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd definately reccomend this excellent B&B in southsea....”

Everley Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Everley Guest House
Ranked #13 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'd definately reccomend this excellent B&B in southsea....”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I've stayed here twice recently, once for a job interview, and then to flat hunt whilst relocating to portsmouth. I'd definately recommend this guest house. The owners are very friendly, cheery and helpful. The room itself was very nice, with a very comfy double bed, freeview tv, and pristine ensuite bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richjhuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
19
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed here for one night, the owner was very helpful and makes the guest house what it is. It was a 30min walk along the sea front to hms victory and where all the chain restaurants and shops are. The room was clean and you could borrow an iron and board if needed. The breakfast was good and there is free parking on the street.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muuummmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

It was actually 2nd time we visited this guest house and it was really nice, rooms are clean, location very good, owners very friendly and breakfast simply big & tasty. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elnino80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

I've stayed here for 2 nights, we were 2 couples in 2 double en-suite bedrooms. My room was tiny but very clean, the small bathroom was new and spotless; the other room was bigger, but with the basin near the bed. Our view wasn't very nice (on the back courtyard), but the room was quiet; the other one had a bay-window overlooking Festing road, which in the night it is quiet as well.
Breakfast was good, generous and with plenty of choice, even for vegetarians.
Location is fine for Southsea: quiet, near Albert road for restaurants and pubs; near to the seafront for beach lovers and sea walks; at a walking distance (about 20-25 minutes) from Gunwharf Quays and Old Portsmouth; near to bus stops.
The best thing was the owners' kindness (especially the man's): service was excellent, very helpful and smiley.
My room could have been a bit bigger, but it was not so important since we just needed a nice, clean and comfortable place as a basis to visit Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight.
I would definitely come back here and recommend it to someone looking for a basic, clean and nice accommodation with a good value for money (especially if compared to other more expensive o similar costing but not as good solutions).

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foriska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

This B&B was not the best that we stayed at on our trip, but it was cosy, the breakfast was good and the proprietors were friendly and made us feel comfortable. Its close to the water, restaurants a few supermarkets, but a bit of a walk to the main sights. Still, it was only 48 GBP per night.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Dudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I booked this B&B with trepidation as the only other review (apart from Tripadvisor) had mentioned a shower cubicle stuck in the corner of the room!
However, me and my boyfriend were after a cheap B&B for just one night, so decided to go for it.

I booked direct with the owners and they were extremely helpful over the phone. When we got there I was relieved at how nice the B&B was.
Everything was a bit dated and tired but it was extremely clean. I had booked a double so was suprised when we got shown into a large triple room. There was a large double bed and a large single bed, big wardrobe (with loads of hngers), 2 chest of drawers, small TV and a few chairs. In the corner was a small en suite with a fantastically strong power shower. There were also plenty of soft towels for us to use.
The choice for breakfast was great as well. Choice of 5 or 6 cereals, yoghurt, fruit, full fry up & nice fresh coffee. What was even more unexpected was the choice for veggies - they had veggie sausage and veggie rashers as an option, which I have never seen before at a B&B!

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Everley - clean, cheap (£45 a night), helpful owners and great brekkie choice.

  • Liked — Great value and breakfast choice for vegetarians
  • Disliked — Dated decor.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shelloid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

I live in Spain but travel around quite a bit.I was visiting Portsmouth to see sme friends & then going on to France. I booked online with this guest house for 2 nights & for a single room.Often as a single person you get a tiny room at an expensive fee but this was certainly an exception.The owners were very friendly & helpful & the breakfast was excellent.No wonder they are busy.

Helpful?
2 Thank cecilyspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
849 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everley Guest House

Property: Everley Guest House
Address: 33 Festing Road | Southsea, Hants, Portsmouth PO4 0NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Everley Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing