We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real good place to stay”

Everley Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Everley Guest House
Ranked #13 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just got home from spending a two night stay at this Bed and Breakfast Guest house,we had a good welcome as other people have said. there were no problems with our room other than ,as the weather was changing our room felt a little chilled ,But as soon as we mentioned this to the owner,we had a hot air fan the same night,
The breakfast was first class we got what we asked for no problems there,
All rooms were kept very clean just could do with some updating which other people have said,
i would have no problem returning to the Everley,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

just what i needed for a short stay. Breakfasts were lovely all you need. My room had a shower in it even though it was small just enough for 1 person. The owners couldn't do enough for me as I am disabled that was a great help

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I have just spent two nights at the Everley Guest House. This was my third stay there although the last one was about 18 years ago. Claire and Steve have only been in the house around 10 years but the good standards they provided more than justified my reasons for going back there again.

I had a family room (even though I was staying there alone) and the cost for bed and breakfast was more than reasonable and worth every penny. It's in such a great location too. Only 400 metres from the historic sea front with a beautiful canoe lake, well kept gardens and pier. At the other end of the street, perhaps 100 meters away, is Albert road, where you can find all the shopping facilities you need as well as a good variety of multi-national restaurants and fast food outlets.

The rooms at the Everley are a little dated but don't let that put you off. They are clean and well maintained and you couldn't wish for better hospitality. The full English breakfast was well cooked and piping hot and as a short stay base in the heart of an historic and fascinating location I would recommend the Everley every time.

Room Tip: A great location to begin your explorations of a beautiful and historic city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G3910HPpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

i was made so welcome by hosts Steve/Claire ,my room was spotlessly clean and very modern .The breakfast was superb always served with a smile and a friendly chat .I have stayed in 4 guest houses in southsea in the last 4 months and this is head and shoulders above the others .Please do yourself a favour and try the everley its brilliant .Glyn Birchall.p/s there is no fitness centre but couldnt take rating off .

Room Tip: all rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Steve and Claire the owners made feel very very welcolme ,it is the 4th guest house i have stayed at in southsea and is by far the best .The room are spotlessly clean ,breakfast is delicious with home made bread and served with a big smile and a friendly chat .Im looking to book again ,and do yourself a favour enjoy a stay at the everly Glyn birchall

Room Tip: all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed at the Everley in July 2012 for two nights in the family room.The room had a double,a single and a temporary put-me-up bed. Although it was hard to get to the wardrobe with the extra bed,in general the room was a very good size, very light and airy and the en-suite was extremely clean and fresh.In the morning we had a choice of 4 breakfasts,full-english,continental, fresh fruit and a vegetarian option.We had a choice of tea,coffee and my daughter had hot chocolate!The breakfast had their own personel touches,such as home made breads and lots of variety.We left the guest house in the mornings feeling very full and refreshed!
All in all we found Everley Guest House to be fantastic value for money,having stayed in other B&B'S in Southsea and Claire and Steve are fantastic hosts!!!!!
We would definately recomend this Guest House! We think it should be a 4 star at least.








r
money,having

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Breakfast well cooked and very tasty. Rooms have good facilities and are very clean. Very welcoming and friendly. Only slight downside is on street parking but saying that I've parked right outside on every ocassion. You can't get much better than this for the price which is exceptionally reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GasEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
G! Boutique Hotel
G! Boutique Hotel
#2 of 34 in Portsmouth
825 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,219 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everley Guest House

Address: 33 Festing Road | Southsea, Hants, Portsmouth PO4 0NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing