We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for watching the boats”

The Slug and Lettuce - Portsmouth Gunwharf
Ranked #392 of 651 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Hampshire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great for watching the boats”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We are here now having just eaten a delicious meal. The fish and chips was absolutely delicious. Staff very nice and friendly. Perfect location on the harbour front and for the shops in Gunwharf Quays, not to mention the Spinnaker Tower. Well worth a visit for reasonably priced food.

Helpful?
Thank itismehdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    163
    124
    109
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Visited here one sunday. Sat outside as it was such a lovely day served drinks and food very quickly but once we received food it was like we didnt exist. It wasnt even that busy yet it took half hour for plates to be cleared once we had finished and even then only half the plates were taken.my little girl had to track a waiter down to ask for her ice cream that was part of the kids meal deal. That was brought out to her with no spoon to eat it with - could have quite easily walked away without even paying the bill dont think anyone would have noticed. I had to go inside to the bar which was empty might i add to settle the bill. Having visited other slugs in the area this one was definitely the worst.

Helpful?
Thank my_names_all_gone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just like home”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We've been using this Slug & Lettuce for some time now and we are never disappointed, the staff are always helpful and chatty, the food is very good and the prices are very competitive compaired with the other food outlets with in the Gunwharf complex, other reviewers have had some bad experiences with the S & L we have had none, but at the end of the day we all see things from different sides. bon appetit

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havant
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“2 for 1 Mondays”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Had a lovely sharing platter and a friend had one too. We both had the same. Small rack of ribs, wedges, onion rings, garlic bread, breaded mushrooms and chicken dippers, this came with a sour cream dip. With a glass of orange juice and lemonade each. £20.80 between us. Absolute bargain. Please note this was on a Monday when the food is two for the price of one

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimHavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Arrived at the slug and lettuce bank holiday Monday at approx 4pm.
Firstly, the only thing we came to the slug and lettuce for (Because we had been reccomended by others) was the sharing patters. But we were swiftly told that we could not order these any more. Disappointing.
So after choosing something else my partner and I both used the toilets and when we both got back to the table commented on how filthy they were, with no toilet roll or no locks on the doors and just a general disgusting state.
When our food arrived, it was plonked down on the table and the waitress rushed off. No asking if we needed anything else and no 'enjoy your meal'. When we began to start eating, we had no salt on the table and my partner wanted BBQ sauce. After ignoring my partner several times, I had to ask THREE seperate waitresses before the last one brought us salt over and no BBQ sauce. Just chucked it down on the table and carried on.
After nearly finishing our meals and waiting 10 mins before we even got the salt we gave up asking, finished our food, paid the bill (which the waitresses were efficient in that area)!!!! And left.
Wish we went to nandos now!

Never again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce - Portsmouth Gunwharf also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce - Portsmouth Gunwharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing