We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to eat at again and again”
Review of Soprano's

Soprano's
Ranked #8 of 651 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$36
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A place to eat at again and again”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have a friend who lives in Southsea and almost lives in Soprano's (well not quite) but he is a devoted regular. Most visits down to Southsea encompass at least one meal in this establishment, the staff are very friendly, the food is freshly prepared and reasonably priced. The one drawback is that in the winter the door directly into the dining area makes for icy blasts but the warmth and charm of the place are never blown away. My advise would be to eat like the natives and their guests.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bish666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    147
    53
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just go there and eat”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Looks a basic Italian from outside, but please go in and eat. this is one of the best Italian restaurants we have eaten in,The four of us had starters and mains with a bottle of wine, both the starters and mains were absolutely delicious, the service was great as was the atmosphere. We went on a Thursday evening and just got the last table so BOOK EARLY to ensure a table and enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank barnowls47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great food , Great place , Great price
YOU MUST TRY THIS PLACE
We went for a family party it was fantastic
Staff are amazing

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oscarwalker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Eat her regularly, but because I do so with work colleagues overlook a report. They have a varied menu to suite all palates today, I had a Sardine Starter, fish cooked to perfection and with heads on too, others had lasagna or meat platter. Bearing in mid all food cooked to order not a long wait - chef must be a good juggler as all orders came out together. Good selection of wines and the presentation of the bill with jelly beans a very nice touch

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“delicious lunch”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

friendly staff, very willing to help and I was able to have a lovely vegan meal there! The atmosphere was cozy and friendly. I will definitely visit it again. Oh, if you go, you should definitely order humus!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimitra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soprano's also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Soprano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing