We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Akash

The Akash
Ranked #135 of 634 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: George & Sons' welcome you to the oldest established Indian Restaurant in Albert Road & one of the oldest in UK. Portsmouth's long serving Indian restaurant founded by George back in the 1970's which has been a great success and continues to serve the local people as well as visiting guests the world over.The Akash restaurant is proud to present its fully licensed Southsea premises. It has a fantastic venue in which there is great atmosphere with a memorable mouth watering meal prepared by our dedicated and experienced chefs. The restaurant comfortably seats up to 95 people to really make those special occasions a night to remember. It is in the prime location of Southsea in the heart of Albert Road just a short distance away from the king's theatre.The secret to this established restaurant is its unforgettable hosts (George & Sons ) and friendly service accompanied by its delightful cuisines make it an instant favourite with any customers from past to presentWe are currently offering HAPPY HOUR DISCOUNTED prices between 5.30pm & 9.30pm EVERYDAY!! Eating in ONLYWe welcome large bookings and seat 95 at ease. We also offer a TAKEAWAY Service from 5.30pm to 2.30am.Delivery is also available from 5.30pm to late
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty and excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I went to Akash with my daughter who is studying at Portsmouth Uni, it's on a road where there are five or six other Indian/Bangladeshi restaurants so has a lot of competition.

We had poppadoms and shared a starter of Vegetable samosas. The chutney tray was filled to the top with fresh onion/dips.

We had Chicken Rogan and Chicken Madras for mains, sharing a single portion of mushroom rice, both were excellent.

We each had a soft drink and again it was served ice cold in a tall clean glass.

The bill came to £29 and I left a £4 tip.

Because my daughter couldn't manage the whole meal I asked if we could have the remainder packaged up to take away and they did this without any hassles.

The service was prompt and polite at all times, I would definitely go back to eat here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moverman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAkash, Manager at The Akash, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Thank-you for taking the time out to write a review. We appreciate all feedback.

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you to The Akash Portsmouth very soon.

Kind Regards

The Akash Team
Est.1978
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    39
    19
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly Indian restaurant with good food in Portsmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is the second time I have eaten the Akash and on both occasions I have had a thoroughly enjoyable meal. The first time i tried the George's Kurai and this time I had the Jinga La Jawab. Both were tasty and distinctive. Service was also excellent and I felt welcomed and looked after. I am happy to recommend the Akash

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAkash, Manager at The Akash, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Thank-you for taking the time out to write a review. We appreciate all feedback.

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you to The Akash Portsmouth very soon.

Kind Regards

The Akash Team
Est.1978
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

6 of us ate here late one night. The service was really friendly and the food reasonably priced and of decent quality. It has been quite a while since my previous visit and the staff remembered us from before. Keep up the good work George and the boys.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“takeaway food ?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

we were working onboard ship in Portsmouth naval base and needed dinner there was a menu from the akash stating they could deliver we called and ordered no problem spent £51.00 the food came as promised,up till now great , however when we unpacked the food and started eating it was terrible very very poor quality hardly any meat in the currys with thin watery sauce the tandoori chicken in my mixed grill was rotten so much so that I reached when I smelt it and threw the whole meal away I ended up eating 2 onion bhagees and a popadom I could not eat the salad as it was packed with hot food and was not edible,we will never use this service again and would not recommend to anybody

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geoff114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner with my friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

During my last dinner at The Akash restaurant i've tried the Student Meal menu'. I went there with 5 of my friends, it was the first time for my friends. We were very satisfied! The friendly service joint the good food created the perfect union for a beautiful dinner! The food is great and the atmosphere is good, in addition to this we have fun with the pictures of us and the Olympic torch!
Next time i would like to try different dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyTuoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Akash also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Akash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing