We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“please George, i want to go home !!”
Review of The Akash

The Akash
Ranked #126 of 711 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: George & Sons' welcome you to the oldest established Indian Restaurant in Albert Road & one of the oldest in UK. Portsmouth's long serving Indian restaurant founded by George back in the 1970's which has been a great success and continues to serve the local people as well as visiting guests the world over.The Akash restaurant is proud to present its fully licensed Southsea premises. It has a fantastic venue in which there is great atmosphere with a memorable mouth watering meal prepared by our dedicated and experienced chefs. The restaurant comfortably seats up to 95 people to really make those special occasions a night to remember. It is in the prime location of Southsea in the heart of Albert Road just a short distance away from the king's theatre.The secret to this established restaurant is its unforgettable hosts (George & Sons ) and friendly service accompanied by its delightful cuisines make it an instant favourite with any customers from past to presentWe are currently offering HAPPY HOUR DISCOUNTED prices between 5.30pm & 9.30pm EVERYDAY!! Eating in ONLYWe welcome large bookings and seat 95 at ease. We also offer a TAKEAWAY Service from 5.30pm to 2.30am.Delivery is also available from 5.30pm to late
Reviewed 18 February 2014

i have been eating in the Akash (george) for around 30 years now, and i can TRUELY say that it just keeps getting better ! the food is always 200 % and george and his sons, are 210%, back in the late 70's, it was hard to gain trust from a indian restaurant,because of some of the people, where not nice people,mainly the ones that sat close to the door ?? but George would always win out (as nice people do ) the food as always was tip top and the staff ALWAYS fab.if i every had to choose a last meal....it would be from the AKASH. and i have forgiven him for the amount of times i have left the restaurant and gone home to get my football boots and go and play without any sleep..good days.if you are ever in portsmouth,take in the ships,and Mr c Dickens house but a trip to portsmouth without the Akash,dont waste your time ! GEORGE XX.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LORDmark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAkash, Manager at The Akash, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Thank-you for taking the time out to write a review. We appreciate all feedback.

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you to The Akash Portsmouth very soon.

Kind Regards

The Akash Team
Est.1978

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

I went to Akash with my daughter who is studying at Portsmouth Uni, it's on a road where there are five or six other Indian/Bangladeshi restaurants so has a lot of competition.

We had poppadoms and shared a starter of Vegetable samosas. The chutney tray was filled to the top with fresh onion/dips.

We had Chicken Rogan and Chicken Madras for mains, sharing a single portion of mushroom rice, both were excellent.

We each had a soft drink and again it was served ice cold in a tall clean glass.

The bill came to £29 and I left a £4 tip.

Because my daughter couldn't manage the whole meal I asked if we could have the remainder packaged up to take away and they did this without any hassles.

The service was prompt and polite at all times, I would definitely go back to eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Moverman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAkash, Manager at The Akash, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Thank-you for taking the time out to write a review. We appreciate all feedback.

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you to The Akash Portsmouth very soon.

Kind Regards

The Akash Team
Est.1978

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is the second time I have eaten the Akash and on both occasions I have had a thoroughly enjoyable meal. The first time i tried the George's Kurai and this time I had the Jinga La Jawab. Both were tasty and distinctive. Service was also excellent and I felt welcomed and looked after. I am happy to recommend the Akash

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAkash, Manager at The Akash, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Thank-you for taking the time out to write a review. We appreciate all feedback.

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you to The Akash Portsmouth very soon.

Kind Regards

The Akash Team
Est.1978

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

6 of us ate here late one night. The service was really friendly and the food reasonably priced and of decent quality. It has been quite a while since my previous visit and the staff remembered us from before. Keep up the good work George and the boys.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank abers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

we were working onboard ship in Portsmouth naval base and needed dinner there was a menu from the akash stating they could deliver we called and ordered no problem spent £51.00 the food came as promised,up till now great , however when we unpacked the food and started eating it was terrible very very poor quality hardly any meat in the currys with thin watery sauce the tandoori chicken in my mixed grill was rotten so much so that I reached when I smelt it and threw the whole meal away I ended up eating 2 onion bhagees and a popadom I could not eat the salad as it was packed with hot food and was not edible,we will never use this service again and would not recommend to anybody

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank geoff114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Akash also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Akash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing