We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find.”

Tang's Chinese Cuisine Restaurant
Ranked #336 of 646 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great find.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A family evening out. We had excellent food and service. You will not be disappointed with the huge menu options. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
Charges, All the food was very fairly priced, wine and drinks on the high side, but that's usual in most restaurants. Would I visit again, I certainly would.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vingerred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    9
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will not be returning”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I am sad to be writing this review, as I have enjoyed many evenings at Tangs for many years. However I will not be returning due to the service. We waited 40 minutes whilst watching other people sit down, order there food and receive it. After 40 minutes we questioned where our starters were.... the waitress was not apologetic. ten minutes later we walked out. Went to the thai restaurant down the road (koh thai tapas) which was lovely.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank smilingsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best Singapore noodles in town!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is our favourite Chinese restaurant in Portsmouth and Southsea. My husband and I have eaten there 3 or 4 times a year for several years and have not been disappointed. It gets stupidly busy on Wed night and rightly so. The food has always been great - the best Singapore noodles in town!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solar2solar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Going DOWNHILL fast!!!!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We moved to the area 18 months ago and used to use this takeaway practically every week and loved it. NOT ANYMORE!! The food is now like eating leftovers. The food is always re-heated and not cooked fresh. the chow mein is greasy and prawns dry and not enjoyable. Not sure if it has hanged hands recently but the very friendly lady who used to know our order as soon as we walked in has gone...as has the quality of food :(

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My girlfriend and I were recommended this restaurant by our hotel and were not disappointed. the food was so beautifully cooked and tasted so good, I would definitely return again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulo247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tang's Chinese Cuisine Restaurant also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Tang's Chinese Cuisine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing