We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free & dairy free Sunday roast :-)”

The Old Customs House
Ranked #73 of 713 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: One of Portsmouth’s original naval buildings, The Old Customs House is always ready to serve… So whether you fancy tucking into our quality cuisine or sampling any of our ales, wines, softs or spirits, we won’t let you down. Settle into one of our sofas and see just what we mean.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We all had a lovely Sunday roast here - as it was late the kitchen had ran out of the pork - but we all enjoyed the lamb and beef.
The waitress made sure that the kitchen knew of my dietary requirements as a coeliac and my gravy was a gluten free one. We all asked for extra gravy which arrived at the table in cute mini saucepans :-)
There was a huge range of gins on offer too - we will be back to sample more .

Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCustomsHouse, General Manager at The Old Customs House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Carol
Thank you for your review
I am glad that you enjoyed our Sunday roast .
See you again for soon

MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a gay couple we are always made welcome by Mark the manager and his staff, there is a fantastic selection of real ales and lagers, great choice of gins and a very good quality bar and restaurant menu lovely atmosphere inside and great outdoor garden, we have also enjoyed good times with our friends and family

1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCustomsHouse, General Manager at The Old Customs House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Robert
Thank you for your great review
See you very soon.

MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In the area and didnt want to eat in the boring chain restaurants in the area.
We had the fish platter to share and was very impressed with the quality of the food and the drama of the presentation.
A proper pub surrounded by the mountain of history in the area.
An excellent retreat from the 'retail therapy'.

Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCustomsHouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Customs House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Kris
Thank you for your feed back.
See you again for a 5 stars review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This, as the name suggest is an Old Custom House, the rooms have been left as they were, with a selection of bars running through the length of the building.

Well worth a visit, with seating outside.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank MJSnobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCustomsHouse, Front Office Manager at The Old Customs House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello
Thank you for your review.
We are proud about our heritage and We are glad that you enjoy your visit with us.
See you soon for a tasty beer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

An excellent evening great food and great service. We were welcomed and all our requirements were met by our waiter Emil. A 5 star performance by all.

Thank BobP0564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCustomsHouse, General Manager at The Old Customs House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good morning Bob
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review.
I will pass on your comment to the kitchen team and Emil for making your dinner memorable.
See you again in the near future .

MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Customs House also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Old Customs House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;