We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good at all” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Master Builder

Master Builder
Ranked #202 of 840 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not good at all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went there for a meal before Christmas. The food was awful and the vegetables were of an extremely poor quality. I won't eat there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrishG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    11
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Not actually a food complaint. Came here to play pool with the girlfriend as we were nearby. Charging town prices for drinks. After offering to set up a tab on my card I was then charged £17 for 2 ciders, a bottle of Sol and 2 packs of nuts. Having been assured the £5 deposit would come off I paid the confusing tab bill only to find they didn't put the amount back on the card.

Phoned landlord to explain and he was pretty rude, saying he didn't know who I was (well unless we're pals, probably not?) and it would be too much trouble as he'd have to phone head office to clear the refund (£5 or £500 the mistake was there's) So basically chip and pin confuses these people, avoid the rudeness and use the white swan when it reopens in May!

Helpful?
Thank Jarrod254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Martin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Great food I eat here 4 times a week and the food has always been first class. The pub has a great atmosphere and the quiz night on a Sunday curry night on a Monday are nights not to be missed

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Carvery on Sunday. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Just ate an excellent carvery meal with my parents on 04/05/14. Choice of 4 meats and a great selection of fresh vegetables. Good meat gravy too. It is my regular watering hole, with its well kept real ales, but I don't often have the lunchtime carvery. I have to say well done to the staff for great food and service in a very busy pub. I even got a sample of tomorrow nights new curry for their curry night. That was great as well. I will return here soon. (Maybe for the curry!).

Helpful?
2 Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Yummy food and wonderful kind staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Today, we popped in for a carvery and was amazed by the manager and the head cook going the extra mile for my husbands dietary needs. The meat was succulent and juicy, while the vegetables was all beautifully cooked and made me sink into my chair and shuffle my chair towards my plate and dig in. Love the gravy nom nom nom. Thanks so much for looking after my husband thank you, all of u.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Master Builder also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Master Builder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing