We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southampton ETAP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockton On Tees
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Southampton ETAP”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We had a lovely stay, the reception staff were always smiling and ever so helpful. The room was basic but exceeded our expectations. Exceptional value for money. We definately will book at an Etap Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    429
    330
    158
    156
See reviews for
227
475
168
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Great location if you are overnighting in Southampton before joining a cruise ship. Walk or short taxi ride to ship berths - freephone in reception for booking taxis. Reception staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I stayed here with my daughter for 2 nights. The rooms are small but clean and modern. We had a double bed with single bunk horizontally above. Towels were changed and bins emptied daily and the staff were polite and friendly. The reception is open 24 hours with a small selection of drinks, crisps & snacks available. There is a 24 hour McDonlads next door which we used for breakfast as the hotel's breakfast didn't have particularly good reviews (although we didn't try it ourselves, I must admit). There is also a TGI Fridays on site and various retail park shops (Boots, Staples etc). Ikea is a 2 minute walk away and the town centre about 10 minutes easy stroll. A pleasant short break.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tierneyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Not good, when we arrived for a two week stay to visit family in the area, the lovely receptionist gave us a tiny room, went back down to see if they had a bigger room and the receptionist called pippa,who is an asset to the hotel compared to some of the others!!, sorted out a disabled persons room which was great {although it smelt like a toilet unless we left the wc door and the room window open all day and night}
The bunk bed that runs across the double bed was filthy when we arrived, it was not cleaned the whole time we were there. no hand towels in room.
We paid 3.75 each for a buffet breakfast for what is basically toast,stale croissants, cereal, tea, coffee & juice. got a refund and went into town and found a couple of nice places to have a decent breakfast at a good price.
i could go on and on but all in all not a good stay and not going to stay here again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2011

When I booked in this hotel, I found the staff to be very polite and friendly especially Zara ! She is helpful and knowledgeable about the area. An asset to the hotel !
Hotel is basic but clean and is a 10 minute walk to the city centre, would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkpanther0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

As a large group it's always difficult to organise accommodation that will suit everyone, but ETAP was perfect.

Booking directly via one of the managers (Emma) couldn't have been easier and any questions were responded to promptly.

The hotel is ideally located in a complex with sister hotels IBIS and Novotel opposite the main train station and is surrounded by a couple of retail parks. From here it's an easy walk to the main shopping areas and restaurants/bars.

The rooms themselves are very basic, but as a group of guys who are only there to sleep that is not an issue and in my five years organising trips for my team, this is the first time anyone felt the need to comment on how ideal the hotel is as we didn't need any facilities other than an bed, a loo and a shower (excellent showers btw).

The staff are very helpful and friendly and despite some difficulties experienced by one of the group, the staff were very quick to provide all assistance required.

It's a perfect base for a group and I would have no worries in recommending the Etap Southampton.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedragon32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The location is a short walk of town. Its not the prettiest of areas but it is a functional one. Shopping Centre. TGI Friday etc...Overall i liked it. Shower was very powerful! Staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast is standard toast, tea ahnd cheese etc...but its what you need in the morning. Literally right opposite the other Accor hotels so you could always use their amenities if you wanted.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing