We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good basic clean hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed one night on a trip to the theatre. Rooms are good for price you pay. comfy bed good location ample parking. Would'nt want to stay for a week but for one night it's great. The staff were all very nice and helpful. Will definetly stay again if going to theatre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisb1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    436
    337
    160
    162
See reviews for
233
484
169
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 July 2011

bathroom very limited on space, charged for 9 nights parking and only stayed for one night and parked for 8 tried to dispute this but they said they were right and they were the manager!!!would not reccomend this hotel on that ground

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. I don't recall speaking with you, but feel free to contact me on 02380 227 705 or email me on h6209-gm@accor.com to discuss this further and I will have a look in to this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 July 2011

A basic hotel but proved to be good value for money based on what the other hotels in the area were charging. Be aware there is no tea or coffree making facility and no hairdryer, some of the comforts we have got used to !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lautrec, France
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Well maintained hotel, good rooms and services,

Car park can get full but not a big problem.
Lots of international travellers coming and going all the time so be aware of some background noise at times.
We enjoyed our stay and booked rooms again for our return.
good rates and friendly staff looking after everyone with a lot of care

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Just returned home after staying three nights at this hotel. Stayed on the ground floor and heard very little from outside. The staff were friendly and could not have been more helpful. the room was basic, but considering the price, would have been surprised if more. Breakfast was all you wanted cold buffet, which would have been nice to have some cold meats, but again for the price this was fine. Close to shops and could park on site for £4 a day. Would recommend and would hope to use again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CItraveller089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This is a very basic hotel. The room is small but clean, although It has separate shower and toilet. It does not provide you with a phone or an in-room safe and there is no internet connections inside as well. However the hotel is close to the Quay West shopping mall and the cruise ship terminals. Both the train and the National Express coach station are within walking distance to the hotel.The continental breakfast is a good deal. The staff are friendly and helpful. If this is your first time to stay in Southampton. you may consider a side trip to the near-by Winchester, Portsmouth and Isle of Wight either by bus or ferry.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing