We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here if you want a quiet stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 December 2011

On staying here for 3 nights for the first time the rooms are very basic, No kettle in room to make tea or coffee, The bed was so hard so no comfort had to put a spear quilt from bunk bed on mattresses to get any comfort at all and above you is a bunk bed so felt clostrafobic. On having a shower you have to stand in the main room to dry there is no privacy only a cubicle to stand in to Shower, The sink in also in the main room, There was noise on and off all night from Drunk people coming in and out and standing in the corridor. On saying to reciption they said we should have told them but did not want to go in corridor with drunk people, And there was no other way to contact reception as no phone in room. We onlt stayed two nights as could not take not having sleep for another night. I know we paid a cheap price but did not except this.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ynf26071997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts, and rest assured we will look into this matter. With kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Etap Hotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,444 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 27 December 2011

friendly staff Clean room And with the winter rate the price was right the hotel is near the centre of Southampton and close to the main shopping/ businesses Close also to ferries and the cruise terminals perfect place to stay

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Etap Hotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Its cheap and fine for a night. But it's not for me.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muntyx21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Etap Hotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

And in the future I shall be paying a little bit more and going elsewhere. Had the misfortune of staying here while on a course in Southampton.

There was big patches of mould around the ceiling. The air conditioning unit was broken and made a terrible loud noise. It was a particularly freezing and stormy night so I needed to use it as a heater but the control panel had all the buttons snapped off from it so was stuck on cold. There was an unopened condom just sticking out from under the mattress (lovely). Just a general dirty feel to the place.

I am not one for bad reviews or complaining and can usually see the positive side of things but it was pretty awful, the only reason it didn't get 1 out of 5 is because after a quick talk with the manager I did get some money refunded which I cant argue with. The rooms are substandard however.

Room Tip: don't stay in room 102 on the first floor in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts, and rest assured we will look into this matter. With kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Etap Hotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
11
Reviewed 9 December 2011

As described, a budget hotel offering no frills but more than adequate for a comfortable nights stay. There was no problems with cleanliness and the bed was comfortable. Thye member of staff we dealt with was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Etap Hotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed here for one night before a cruise we thought it was good value for money,the room was clean bed was comfortable and the food at breakfast was very good.The staff on reception were very pleasent and friendly,we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Etap Hotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Trowbridge
1
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The hotel could have been improved by a more convenient method of getting hot drinks; by the reception staff being more aware of what to do when the auto barrier jammed; and last of all I recommend that they take a few lessons about emergency barrier opening from the Novotell staff who immediately opened the barrier for me when I called them.
The hotel apart from that is cheap; very very basic ; but fairly reasonable value given its location. I would probably use it again but would take a hot drink in a flask

Did not travel with colleagues I travelled alone but the faulty software will not allow me to change it. I entered c for car and it brought up colleagues. so you also probably need a good software engineer, shall I recommend one?
Also the review website is faulty

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. Rest assured that we are looking into the matter.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Etap Hotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#14 of 26 in Southampton
1,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 26 in Southampton
1,165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Southampton
Travelodge Southampton
#22 of 26 in Southampton
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#19 of 26 in Southampton
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#25 of 26 in Southampton
507 reviews
1.8 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#16 of 26 in Southampton
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £34 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing