We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Ibis Budget Hotel Southampton Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel during our trip to the boat show in Southampton. We choose this particular hotel for its proximity to the boat show and for its cheapest fair during the Boat show (all other hotels were a bit higher for what we need it). All we needed was a nice clean bed and room to sleep in (which we got) as we were going to be out and about the entire day. This was our second stay at this hotel (previous stay was for the same reasons – the boat show).

The room was basic, clean but the heating did not work, so given the low temperature outside and 2 days with pouring down with rain we were a bit cold. The hotel offers a basic continental breakfast which we decided not to used, so we cannot comment on that. There were also some yogurt and cereal bars for sale and coffees.

The thing that annoyed us the most is that as we checked in, the receptionist asked us if we want to pay for the car park now or at the end of the stay (which we agreed on). Only to find out that in order to take your car out the car park, you had to have your car park ticket validated (pay first). this was inconvenient for us as we were already at the barriers to get out the car park which meant that we needed to reverse and see the receptionist. I would have liked them to make this matter clear whilst at the check in process, to explain in further details that although you can pay at the end of your stay, in order to get the car out of the car park during your stay, you need to pay there and then not wait till the end of your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikimunte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

951 - 957 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

We visited the boat show at Southampton and stayed for one night at the Ibis Budget hotel. It was close to the venue and easy to find, with some help form the sat nav. On site parking at £5 a day was a real bonus. The room was clean and tidy, reasonably quiet with the window shut but had a fair amount of road noise with the window open - as you would expect from somewhere in this location.Also very close to the ferry terminal if you are travelling from there. Like others, we had breakfast at the Ibis opposite, which was really good value and much more appetising than the continental breakfast on offer at the budget Ibis, which lacked appeal. Staff were excellent and very pleasant and helpful. Overall a good choice for a very short stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank englishgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was our second stay and unfortunately not as good as the first. When we arrived to check in all staff were sat talking and did not seem to be aware that we were waiting. The room was on the 3rd floor and could really have done with a bit of a renovation. They do provide towels but very small and thin.
However hotel is in a very good position and you get what you pay for it is a budget hotel so don't expect 1st class service.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor room
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisb1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis budget Southampton very soon.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

just what the name says budget.

If you want a clean room with a bed in it that what you get if you want a clean room with a kettle digital tv channels tea coffee shampoo mini bar or anything else then you will need to pay more money and go to another hotel.

Come on what do you want fro £38 and this is the total i paid with breakfast and parking charges

The staff are polite and friendly the all you can eat / drink continental breakfast is adequate the rooms are clean well proportioned.

All in all a pleasant stay virtually in the city center what more could you want for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis budget Southampton very soon.

Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel first off back in May, during that stay we were accused of not paying for our room and dragged out our beds at 3 am to prove we had. Letting this go we stayed again 2 weeks ago, we had no trouble however the week after my friend was charged £60 buy the hotel with no authorisation or knowledge this had happened. When trying to ring up to see why they had charged her credit card they said we had a complaint which they couldnt prove, conveniently the manager was never available, they then wouldn't answer our calls and even started hanging up on us. If they are going to charge us without reason at least have the balls to speak to us. They are Money grabbing cheap and disgusting.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherynbentley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Many thanks for your feedback and I’m sorry that you were disappointed. I am personally looking into this.Rest assured we will address them.

Kind regards

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here on 27 August before travelling to the port. The hotel is right across the road from the train station so we walked it with three cases with ease, found the staff really helpful, even booking us a taxi for the morning to take us to the port. The rooms were basic but clean. We paid £28 for the room, you can't complain really can you? Great location, McDonalds and TGI Friday next door for quick bite to eat. My parents are staying there in a few weeks following my recommendation!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingwiganer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Budget in Southampton.

Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed here in March and it is horrible, extra keys for our room were dished out to others not in our group, staff are rude and the facilities are awful. Our room smelt of urine and when we complained were were simply told there is nothing we can do as we are full.

For £12 a night I was not thinking much however i would not stay here again if you paid me, terrible place with terrible customer serivce.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stubinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Ibis Budget in Southampton. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously and we will look into this matter.

Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Southampton
Travelodge Southampton
#20 of 25 in Southampton
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £37 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing