We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget sums it up!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“budget sums it up!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

service and location good but stuffy room, no tea and coffee making facilities and had to pay for car park too and breakfast ,so on reflection more expensive accom may have worked out cheaper overall when you take into account £1.40 for each cup of tea!
very basic no wardrobe bit claustrophobic!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank smeggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel.
Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    436
    337
    160
    162
See reviews for
233
484
169
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very expensive for a 'budget hotel', with the room costing £90 per night (including breakfast and parking - which don't come as standard). For the same amount of money, you can stay in a B&B and have a much more pleasant experience. The mattress was shallow and hard, much like the ones found in army camps.

Staff seemed friendly enough.

The shower was by far the best part of the room, spacious and powerful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for taking a time to write a comment about our hotel.
Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Firstly some plus points; the location is excellent and very close to the city centre and the staff were friendly and helpful.

There are however several downsides. There are no kettles in the room, which is very poor given that even the most basic hotels are expected to provide this, it's a matter of courtesy towards guests. After all who in Britain doesn't drink tea or coffee everyday? Probably very few. Secondly there was no toiletries provided e.g shower gel or shampoo at all, which should be expected if you're paying £50+ a night. Lastly the bed as another reviewer stated, is like a mortuary slab; absolutely dire.

Overall just go somewhere else this hotel is really substandard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your
recent visit to Ibis Budget Southampton. I am delighted that you
enjoyed your stay and we have noted your other comments.
Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was prepared for cheap and cheerful and had fairly low expectations. Walked into the room and everything looked clean and fairly new so was pleased. However things went downhill fast. The beds are hard and lumpy and so uncomfortable. I even resorted to sleeping on the floor. The facilities are poor. ..a small tv and that's it. No kettle. The hotel is situated right next to a 24hr McDonald's. It is incredibly noisy and as a result both my friend and 1 had about 4 hours sleep over 3 days.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to
expectations. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously.
Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Location Great, access easy, price perfect, service excellent - so why a four? Simple ... Just because this is a 'Budget' Hotel, it shouldn't skimp on the basics! Ergo, how much extra would it cost to furnish the beds with a softer, deeper mattress that actually forms to your body or for pillows that cushion your head and support your neck? Why do the towels have to be so small?
My point being, I'm happy for the room to be fairly basic in its amenities. Lets face it, after a long day behind the wheel all you really want is a safe, clean and COMFORTABLE nights sleep before the next day arrives - not to wake up feeling like you've just spent the night on a mortuary slab!
C'mon Etap, the initial cost increase for set-up is minimal and you'd win it back hand over fist! - To finish on a positive ... the shower cubicle is phenomenal! The size is good and the power of the shower 1st class!

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows at reception - the rooms will all be similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthofTheWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your
recent visit to Ibis Budget Southampton. I am delighted that you
enjoyed your stay and we have noted your other comments.
I hope to see you again.
Kind regards,

Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you want a cheap, functional, clean place to stay in Southampton you could probably do a lot worse. It cost £58 in total for one night, 2 adults, one child, 3 all you can eat brekkies and 24 hr parking.

Stayed with my family as a stop over before going to Peppa Pig World. My daughter had the bunk above the double bed. Room was clean and compact with a nice little telly. Bed was a bit hard though and we could have done with an extra pillow or 2.

Staff were really helpful too.

You can easily get your money's worth out of the all you can eat continental buffet breakfast. But the restaurant is a bit like a canteen and is cramped when busy.

Would go again for a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jono2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
I am glad you had an enjoyable time at Ibis Budget Southampton. We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Had a room for 3 adults. The third bed was a bunk above the double beds head board . Very compact. Modern, clean. Power shower. The electrics went and so we were given another room without any fuss. Staff polite and very helpful.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with
us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Southampton
Travelodge Southampton
#20 of 24 in Southampton
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing