We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Hotel - Cheap price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Central Hotel – Cheap price”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I think the name gives it away for what it is, and that is a budget hotel. But that is reflected within the price, and for the price we paid (£40) for a double room on a Saturday night, you cannot complain.

It was clean enough, had a bed, shower and toilet and was exactly what we were after. The shower is sort of in the room, which is a bit strange, there is no bathroom as such. This does cause the floor outside the shower to be very wet, but if you stick a towel on the floor it is fine. The staff were friendly, and we easily got 2 additional pillows for the room and an extra towel as the room didn’t have enough of either.

It is central and you can walk to wherever you want to go from the hotel. It is opposite the train station, and a 2 minute walk from the shopping centre. There are places to eat all around it, with a TGI Fridays, and a McDonalds literally on the doorstep. Then you obviously have better restaurants a short walk away.

Summary – Cheap, central and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am
delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to
seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz Assistant Manager Ibis Budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    438
    340
    160
    164
See reviews for
233
487
169
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very poor service, TV in my room didn't work and the staff wernt interested in fixing it, I asked at reception all week but nothing happened, 4 days staring at the walls, very poor service, I,d advise you find another hotel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ochre43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to email me on h6209-gm@accor.com.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Best part of the stay was the shower!!
Rooms were small and very, very basic.
Annoying humming noise all night that we could not locate.
Staff weren't particularly helpful.
Definitely not worth the price we paid,

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Many thanks for your feedback and I’m sorry that you were disappointed.
Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz, Assistant Manager Ibis Budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a basic but clean and very good value hotel near West Quay. There is easy access and the staff are friendly. The room is unfussy but actually got a very good sleep. Take your own toiletries as there is only a small bar of soap.The simple breakfast buffet is good value

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffinerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz Assistant Manager Ibis Budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Staff were really helpful when checking in . Room was spotless very impressed and glad I didn't have the bunk bed ! Sadly I got woken up all night by doors banging people shouting and cars outside with pumping music ! Plus at 6am a young lady shouted into a room morning and then slamed the door

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Kind regards, Marta Sajewicz Assistant Manager Ibis Budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Paid £48 for this hotel and would have felt ripped off at £20. Hairs on the sheets. Front desk laughed and said it was normal for housekeeping to mess up so gave us a new under sheet that we had to put On ourselves. Room smelt of sulphur. No freshener at reception and no offer of another room, bed was like rock. All in all i would rather stay a night in prison!! Do not go here!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dollythesheepEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed
with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost
seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter.
Please feel free to contact me on 02380227705 to discuss this further. Kind regards,
Marta Sajewicz Assistant Manager, Ibis Budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 24 in Southampton
974 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Southampton
Travelodge Southampton
#20 of 24 in Southampton
298 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing