We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You really get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You really get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The service from the staff was great.

But the standard of the hotel i found to be poor. Obviously being a budget hotel we didn't expect too much, but mold on the ceiling and dried blood on the bunk bed was just a little extreme to be acceptable as it was only budget accommodation.

We missed breakfast by half hour. We wasn't verbally told nor was their any information to state when it finished but staff dealt with us and were really nice about it.

Free wifi was great
Good location

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Charli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton | 3 West Quay Road | Southampton | SO15 1RA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    422
    320
    150
    151
See reviews for
224
457
164
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
732 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night and prepayed for the breakfast which was healthy and good value. The eating area was small but adequate near the reception area. There was a variety of cereals, bread, croissants, fruit , preserves and cold meat, as well as juices, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. It was a buffet and excellent value.
Parking costs £20 at the barrier for 24 hours or £6 through the hotel which is a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveningEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton | 3 West Quay Road | Southampton | SO15 1RA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Ibis Budget Hotel in Southampton does exactly as it describes. Provides good accommodation at a very affordable price. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, and the location was perfect for us, especially with the parking provided.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KARENANN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton | 3 West Quay Road | Southampton | SO15 1RA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

At first I was apprehensive about staying here, but I needn't worry, it was fine. The room was average (as it is a basic room), but my rating is "very good" due to value for money.
One particularly useful thing was decent check in/out times. You can check in at 12 (for most hotels it's not until 2) and the check out time is also 12.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HSB-UK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
So glad you had an enjoyable time at Ibis budget Southampton! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton | 3 West Quay Road | Southampton | SO15 1RA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I know you get what you pay for - but I have stayed in hotels for cheaper for a much much better experience with far better rooms. This is honestly the worse hotel I've stayed at. It is so claustrophobic there is hardly any space to move it looks, smells and feels very clinical. I'm sure some prison cells are more comfortable. I honestly couldn't wait to leave. The mattress and pillows are paper thin and sleeping was very uncomfortable. Even if you are looking for a to fit the night with just a bed and bathroom I wouldn't advise you to stay here. After my night here I stayed the night at another hotel for the exact same price that had a great view much bigger room, a real bed, large bathroom tea coffee and biscuits in the room, full breakfast. Really no need to try and squeeze as many rooms as possible in to a building completely compromising on quality and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts and I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us.We appreciate all feedback.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton | 3 West Quay Road | Southampton | SO15 1RA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Ashford
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Visit was booked for me as part of a business trip and, having read some of the reviews, I was very concerned that this could turn out to be a bad experience. However, nothing could have been further from the truth. From the friendly, welcoming staff on reception to the cleanliness of the room, I was impressed. Yes, this is a budget hotel so yes, the room was very small and basic, but as I say it was acceptably clean (9/10), quiet and comfortable. No toiletries are supplied and the towels are a bit thin but the (firm) bed was fine and the shower hot and powerful. Free wi-fi (which you don't get in many much more expensive hotels) and a TV that you can connect your laptop/tablet/smartphone to (if you've got the right cables) to watch other media or listen to your own music is a great idea which others should copy. Breakfast (continental) is extra but adequate. Overall, for a short or one night stay this place is absolutely fine.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton | 3 West Quay Road | Southampton | SO15 1RA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing