We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed there actually on 2012. Good location just 5 minutes from railway and 10 minutes walking from city centre and square. Clean big rooms, value breakfast. Only bad thing was the absense of minibar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeaHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a very basic hotel which someone described as "Student Accommodation".
Very small but adequate rooms and ours was clean enough, the rest of the family had to move rooms though due to the initial room being dirty. We were facing the car park which is ok, our family got moved to the back of the hotel and right above the McDonalds drive through which was very noisy.This hotel is only adequate for overnight stop overs and not somewhere to spend a few days.
Excellent location for the cruise terminals and plenty of shops and restaurants around this area.

Room Tip: Room facing the car park is a must as there is a lot of hungry people in Southampton all visiting Mc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samtheskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel three times now. We wanted somewhere cheap, convenient, clean and comfortable. The first time we stayed was in the summer and we were kept up all night by people outside the 24hr McDondalds. The next time I requested when I booked that we were as far away as possible and consequently we had a good nights sleep. I made the same request last time we stayed and again, we had a good nights sleep. The rooms are clean and the showers good and hot. This is all we needed. Be aware that there is no tea or coffee in the room (this is available downstairs at additional cost) and you have to pay for parking (I believe it was £6 for 24hrs). Staff are polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from McDonalds!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This zero-frills hotel is right across from the train station, convenient to all sorts of shopping and dining. But make sure to get a room overlooking the parking lot on the front side of the hotel or you'll be listening to the traffic and all-night revelers at the 24-hour McDonald's ten feet away on the back side of the building!

Beds no frills too, pretty hard, fyi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suomigrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mikeankirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed two nights and it was long enough. You certainly get what you pay for. However, having said that, the room was very clean including the bed linen. The bed was really uncomfortable. There are no complementary facilities to talk of. Its name says it all - Budget!

Room Tip: Ideal for a single night only. Take toiletries, drinks etc with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Apologies for not living up to your expectations. We’ll look into things, and I hope we can welcome you back some time in the future.

Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent reception from Charlotte on arrival and all aspects of this budget sector hotel were flawless: hygiene factors, decor, room, shower, coffee ...

What impressed me most was the flexibility and discretion accorded the team. The relaxed, absolute, yet humorous manner in which the damage levy or deposit was communicated to groups of young men arriving to party in Southampton by Quita was a lesson in diplomacy. It should have been filmed for training purposes.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#14 of 26 in Southampton
1,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 26 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Southampton
Travelodge Southampton
#22 of 26 in Southampton
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#19 of 26 in Southampton
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#25 of 26 in Southampton
507 reviews
1.8 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#16 of 26 in Southampton
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £33 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing