We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservation/Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Reservation/Reception”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Phoned from New Zealand to pay for sons accommodation on day of reservation. Would not accept my credit card, (which I booked online with)I was following procedure as per booking confirmation letter making prior arrangement. Reception was very rude kept interrupting & when I asked to speak to someone whom could communicate with better english I was called racist (this is totally unacceptable) she continually cut me off, i was told there was no Management on duty until Tuesday (I phoned on Sunday) Upon asking her name she at first refused to give it to me, I finally got her name after asking repeatedly. Followed this up with 2nd call to hotel spoke to another and was told to book elsewhere. Also phoned NewZealand chain whom said I could've got email authority to pay, which is what I was asking for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Apologies for not living up to your expectations. We’ll look into things, but in the meantime, feel free to contact me on h6209-gm@accor.com if you wish to discuss this further.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    429
    330
    158
    155
See reviews for
227
474
168
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The rooms were very pleasant for the price paid. Cannot really complain about anything. It was a very cheap option, the halls were quiet, it's location is very close to the centre of Southampton. If you just want somewhere to sleep, definately a great option!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TumbleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

At £40 a night you get what you pay for, basic furniture and decorations and a loo in a cupboard but you know what its cheaper than a taxi to and from Portsmouth after a night out in Southampton and its always clean and its somewhere to lay your head so id stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWilbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What can I say about this other than for the money and location, next to West Quay Shops etc, it would be difficult to beat. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are quite small and reasonably basic but the design is superb, everything has been thought of. Plenty of times we've been to 4 or 5 star hotels with so called designer features and absolutely nowhere to put anything. Here there was hanging space and shelves in all the right places. All facilities are separate so no hanging around waiting for someone to finish a shower or whatever. The shower is great, it's in a prefabricated enclosure so no vile shower curtain or mouldy tiles etc. it's also nicely non slip, I'm sick of pussyfooting around on lethal shiny floors. Even stepping out of the shower the flooring is good. The bed was comfortable and there is a TV. No kettle or frig. Free wifi as well, large hotels take note of this. Car parking is £6 per day and there is a wide choice of eateries and shops within a 5minute walk. It can be a bit noisy as it's close to a busy road, but we slept ok even with our window open.

We'd definitely stay here again although it's fair to say this is only a one ot two night stay type of place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Have used this hotel in the past but it has had a makeover and is sold as a basic hotel package. Don't be put off by that as the bedrooms have been designed with a separate loo and shower with the wash basin in the room. Although space for hanging clothes is limited, the shelf space and overall layout puts many more upmarket hotels to shame. The design works well. Car parking is £6 for 24 hours, free Wifi (no extortionate extra charge) and very close access to West Quay shopping centre and the High Street beyond makes this an attractive short stay hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FerringFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
So glad you had an enjoyable time at Ibis budget Southampton! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Budget equals very very basic. No frills at all. Rooms feels like private rooms at a hospital. The hotel is clean but smells slightly clinical. The beds are very uncomfortable, a thin mattress on a board . The rooms are also half wet room as the show opens into the room not into a pod like other Ibis - this means you do end up with half of the room wet after a shower. Dont expect any shower gel, a kettle or anything. AND make sure your room isnt over the McDonalds drive through...sorry but i would not stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheatreTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I appreciate your feedback, though, We’ll look into things, and I hope we can welcome you back some time in the future.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Rooms are like a hospital ward in terms of their Spartan amenities and impeccable cleanliness.

The rooms are small, there is no escaping that, but they are perfectly formed for a solo traveller for a few nights or a couple needing somewhere cheap to lay their head in an emergency. I wouldn't want to imagine what they'd be like with the three people they claim can fit or a parent with a child. A minor complaint about the room itself is there isn't anywhere other than the floor to put an open suitcase.

While the soundproofing does a quite good job, it makes the rooms almost airtight and very stuffy even with just myself in the room, which forces you to open the window to face a 6 lane major road and the shipping container terminal opposite. I couldn't imagine the rooms on the other side were any better - they overlook multiple fast food restaurants and their drive-thru's.

If you want both fresh air, and a peaceful sleep - bring ear plugs.

There is a small and overpriced (as you'd expect at any hotel) chilled drinks and convenient-store microwave food available at reception and the breakfast offered is limited to cereal, bread, concentrate juice and a few stale pastries. If you want to have a nice meal, don't stay in Southampton, but then if you were worried about that you wouldn't be looking at staying in an Ibis Budget anyway, would you? You'd be better off for a quick drink off if you went across the car park to the other Ibis or the Novatel both located on the opposite side of the hotel car park.

Here's an interesting food option - there's an Ikea 200 yards away and it really is the best, close, restaurant. Try the meatballs.

Room Tip: Bring good quality ear plugs, your own toiletries and eat at the Ikea across the road instead of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilburWabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to email me on H6209-gm@accor.com.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing