We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room compact goes with the price paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel was not easy to find even with a GPS. The shower was not working properly. Our room was on McDonald side with the Drive-Thru right under our window and we heard people talking and laughing until 3 am.
Breakfast was OK.

Room Tip: Avoid McDo side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FVMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back anytime soon.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in april 2014 hotel was very clean but it is exactly what it says budget.No tea or coffee facilities and for breakfast it is continental you can eat in ibis but it pricey 7.95 for a breakfast.In the reception area there is a tea and coffee machine but again pricey 1.50 a cup,rooms were tidy the room we had had double bed with a bunk bed over top not a lot of room in the room we had to iron only one plug in room by telly and took all room up.Toilet was so small knees touched door so easier to sit with door open,shower was ok but kept on going red hot or cold no in between staff were very nice and could not fault them in any way.To overcome tea or coffee problem just a 30 second walk behind hotel is a 24 hour mcdonalds where tea large was 99p we had breakfast at mcdonalds too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. I arrived around midnight on Friday to a warm welcome and found the room super compact, a bit like hotels I've stayed in in Tokyo. There are no wardrobes, just wall mounted hanging space, the sink is in the room and the powerful shower leads off the room. It really feels it has been properly thought through, from the lighting, storage, bed arrangement etc. It felt modern, it was clean and really near the centre of town. We didn't have breakfast as the main Ibis is right opposite and do a nice full English/continental for around £7. Nice one, Budget Ibis!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Phoned from New Zealand to pay for sons accommodation on day of reservation. Would not accept my credit card, (which I booked online with)I was following procedure as per booking confirmation letter making prior arrangement. Reception was very rude kept interrupting & when I asked to speak to someone whom could communicate with better english I was called racist (this is totally unacceptable) she continually cut me off, i was told there was no Management on duty until Tuesday (I phoned on Sunday) Upon asking her name she at first refused to give it to me, I finally got her name after asking repeatedly. Followed this up with 2nd call to hotel spoke to another and was told to book elsewhere. Also phoned NewZealand chain whom said I could've got email authority to pay, which is what I was asking for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Apologies for not living up to your expectations. We’ll look into things, but in the meantime, feel free to contact me on h6209-gm@accor.com if you wish to discuss this further.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The rooms were very pleasant for the price paid. Cannot really complain about anything. It was a very cheap option, the halls were quiet, it's location is very close to the centre of Southampton. If you just want somewhere to sleep, definately a great option!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TumbleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

At £40 a night you get what you pay for, basic furniture and decorations and a loo in a cupboard but you know what its cheaper than a taxi to and from Portsmouth after a night out in Southampton and its always clean and its somewhere to lay your head so id stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWilbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What can I say about this other than for the money and location, next to West Quay Shops etc, it would be difficult to beat. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are quite small and reasonably basic but the design is superb, everything has been thought of. Plenty of times we've been to 4 or 5 star hotels with so called designer features and absolutely nowhere to put anything. Here there was hanging space and shelves in all the right places. All facilities are separate so no hanging around waiting for someone to finish a shower or whatever. The shower is great, it's in a prefabricated enclosure so no vile shower curtain or mouldy tiles etc. it's also nicely non slip, I'm sick of pussyfooting around on lethal shiny floors. Even stepping out of the shower the flooring is good. The bed was comfortable and there is a TV. No kettle or frig. Free wifi as well, large hotels take note of this. Car parking is £6 per day and there is a wide choice of eateries and shops within a 5minute walk. It can be a bit noisy as it's close to a busy road, but we slept ok even with our window open.

We'd definitely stay here again although it's fair to say this is only a one ot two night stay type of place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,072 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#15 of 25 in Southampton
1,017 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 25 in Southampton
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £29 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing