We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Perfectly Basic”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is exactly what it advertises itself, an adequate, clean budget hotel. This place is ideal as a base to just sleep. I wouldn't really like to spend too much time in the room as it was very utilitarian … but if you want a bit more comfort go to the normal ibis across the car park.

The bathroom is a bit like a pod hotel, being made from a molded plastic unit. However the shower itself was very powerful – you could strip pebble-dash with the pressure from the unit.

As a basic base for an overnight stay and at a cheap price I would recommend this.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariner_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Raphaella Yver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    439
    340
    160
    164
See reviews for
233
488
169
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Always stay here. Never had any issues previously. We stayed there beginning of August for 5 nights. The room was never cleaned once during our stay. Had to ask reception each day for towels. Air conditioning unit was constantly dripping water which left lots of water on the floor.
WiFi good. Location excellent.
I am staying there again from 14th August for 4 nights. Hope to see an improvement.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me on 2380 227 705 to discuss this further. Kind regards, Raphaella Yver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When I first saw the hotel I thought this looks like a youth hostel I stayed in when I was in secondary school (the youth hostel was more comfortable as a matter of fact). Once I stepped inside I saw the horrible restaurant, if you can call it a restaurant. The desk workers was relatively helpful and we got to our room (and again if you can call it a room) it is a bed, with two cupboards which are a shower and bathroom apparently. The "bunk bed" is a disgrace with both beds being rock hard and the single on top of the double wasn't even made the sheets were just there. We had to live out of our suitcase due to the lack of a wardrobe, it was a pole attached to the wall (classy). I would not recommend staying here actually I would rather never mention it again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connor_Henbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on 02380 227 705. Kind regards, Raphaella Yver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Positives - Walking distance from Southampton Train Station, beside McDonalds for breakfast, close to TGI Fridays, good bar at the main Ibis Hotel beside the budget hotel & cheap price.
Negatives- For three people the third bed is a bunk bed over a double bed, as my son is taller than me and it was very uncomfortable for him. Also the shower cubicle is beside the bed with a see-through glass door, again not great with a teenager.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Raphaella Yver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spent only one day with my girlfriend there. Rooms are extremely small, shower looks like a cupboard and I even wasn't able turn around inside, toilet the same. The walls is like from cardboard, seemed that I hear someone is snoring three floors above! Parking is payed. Staff is very inhospitable - I had a problem with one of my credit cards and staff said that I must provide details for the other one BY PHONE immediately (one day before) otherwise they will cancel my booking with charging some fee.
I will never stay in this chain of hotels ever more!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
Green Features: Oh yes, walls from cardboard is very environmental but makes this hotel awful for visiting!
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly. Kind regards, Raphaella Yver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 24 in Southampton
975 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Southampton
Travelodge Southampton
#20 of 24 in Southampton
299 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing