We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Smashing Southampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersSilver level
glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super Smashing Southampton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

I stayed in the Etap hotel for eight nights and found it to be a quiet, clean and very well located hotel. The reception staff Danielle and Emma added the glamour to a no thrills hotel and I found them very helpful, friendly and extremely professional in any dealings I had with them. I always received a warm welcome when entering the hotel, and when required the staff were very pleasant and were always available to answer any queries I had.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling on a budget, and I shall be booking again when I return to Southampton at the start of December.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabozzaritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2009
Dear mabozzaritchie,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. It is always good to receive feedback from our guests. I was pleased to read of your satisfaction with the team members here at the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    422
    320
    150
    151
See reviews for
224
457
164
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

Check in was fine, in a good location until I got to the room. McDonald's drive thru and a busy main road despite double glazing were a constant companion. There was a sign on the back of the door about do's and don'ts hence the feel of a student hostel. The room was fine, clean, the bed was comfortable with everything you could want - the shower was spotless .If you want somewhere cheap and cheerful and you are not bothered about people calling at McDonald's throughout the night sounding horns to get attention to be served then this is a real consideration. Apparently, if you ask for a room overlooking the car park it is quieter. Etap have contacted me and are aware of the situation and are taking steps to rectify it. Would I go back? No.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttonLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2009
Dear SuttonLincolnshire,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel.

It is always good to receive feedback from our guests to help us improve the service and quality that we provide.

I'm sorry that the noise from Mcdonalds disturbed you during your visit.

I can also confirm we are working closely with Southampton City Council and Mcdonalds in an attempt to prevent future disturbances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

For £37 a night, this place was a bargain. The bed was very comfortable, even if it was a bunk), the room was clean and the shower was lovely and hot. Didn't have breakfast there but it looked like good value (£2ish for cereal, fruit, toast, etc) and it's very close to the town centre. All in all, nothing special but certainly worth a visit if you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2009
Dear CCS202,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read of your satisfaction with our room rate and facilities.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

I stayed one night at the Etap. I arrived late and the staff did not tell me they had already charged the room and so processed the transaction again when I arrived. It took two weeks to get my money back. The room was clean anough but even for no-frills seemed very cell like. Consisted of steel framed bunk bed and wet room. The staff were polite and tried to be pleasant but really were not knowlegable about the hotel or its location. I was looking for a conference centre that was 300 meters away, but they did not know and had no detailed map. Breakfast was extra and was basic but fine. The hotel is right next to the docks.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acension1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2009
Dear acension1000 ,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I was sorry to read of the problems you experienced with being double charged.

We do take a pre-authorisation from the credit card given at the time of booking for all late arrivals.

This transaction is then normally completed. Should you pay with an alternative card, the pre-authorisation can take up to 7 days to release.

Again, please accept my appologies for any confusion that may have been caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Stayed at the Etap after an office party - I thought it would be adequate but was disappointed by the level of cleanliness the bed sheets had not been changed and when I mentioned it to and cleaning staff they were not were not helpful .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadwell_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etap-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2009
Dear Shadwell_Wales,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel.

I was disapointed to read of the problems you experienced.

Please accept my sincere apologies.

Our rooms are cleaned and checked daily, I will be discusing your comments with our housekeeping team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We stayed one night at Etap Southampton before catching an early morning flight from Southampton airport.

The hotel was cheap, £35 for two. The room was kind of hostel-like, with foam beds (which were still comfy) and a decent enough shower.

The room was not very clean however, we expect toothpaste / soap scum around the sinks in hostels but not in a hotel where the sink is in your room. There was also a large obvious glob of dried phlem / spit on the wall which didn't impress us much.

However, you get what you pay for and there are not many places where you can get a handy location & good sleep for less than £50!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_and_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

If you're looking for a clean ,cheap place to lay your head for the night this hotel is great!
...That is exactly what we wanted after flying in from Canada for one night pre-cruise.
It is walking distance from the train station,or bus station as well as walking distance to the cruise port. There are stores and restaurants within walking distance as well.
While the rooms are tiny and hotel is no frills,it was clean and did the trick nicely for one night!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moncton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing