We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Winston Hotel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
wantage, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Book elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is a pub and not a hotel, I booked it because it was cheap and we had a budget for the weekend. Never again, the room was a box, the toilet smelt of pee ( room L ) The only saving grace was that the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was pricey at £6 and didn't seem much but did fill me up for the day. All in all its an experience I don't want to go through again and will pay higher money for at least cleanliness....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjbunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    25
    20
    13
    24
See reviews for
14
18
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

Stayed here on friday night , what a disapointment.
My room was above the smokers shelter I think as it absolutely stunk of cigarette smoke until I closed window.
There was very loud music from downstairs til closing time.
ITS A PUB NOT A HOTEL the pictures don't do it justice totally misled

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lutoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

north east england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

first may i say that the young female staff we encountered was very friendly and helpful.
however the room was small dirty and smelly.
the bedroom had a tiny sink in the corner which was so small that my partner could not get his hands in. the blinds at the window were dirty and dusty.
there was a shower 2foot from the bed.
the toilet floor was carpeted and smelled of stale urine it was disgusting.
we had booked and paid online for 2 nights and felt so disappointed that we cut our losses and found a much superior hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillcraig69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

I picked up The Winston on LateRooms.com

I was aware of The Winston's existence only because I USED to live ten minutes walk away. Nothing I could fault with the hotel, the reception from the staff or the rooms. Food was alright. Didn't make much use of the bar, but was relatively sociable.

Hotel does seem to attract the men working away from home, but that's the hotel business: don't knock it they need all the business they can get and that is fairly typical with a lot of small hotels/guest houses.

Breakfast between 7 and 8 on a weekday is a bit tough if you aren't getting up to go out early, but again that is fairly typical of a lot of hotels dealing with "travelling workers".

I had some interesting conversations with guest and staff alike - I would definitely stay again.

Also worth bearing in mind that if you find this hotels rate cheaper on LateRooms, ring the hotel direct and they will match it. A lot of hotels won't!!

Yes it can be a bit noisy, if you have your room window open, but be aware you are staying above a pub, it has got double glazing and you're not going to please all the people all the time: You got to take the rough with the smooth.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Travelled down for an interview the following morning, so wanted a nice clean place to spend the night and arrive fresh for interview the next day. paid £35 for a twin ensuite. the wife then decided to come too. When we checked in, paid extra for breakfast, and were taken up the musty smelling stairs to the room. two ancient creaky single beds, three feet apart, a wardrobe with a 10 inch portable on the top! the light in the room didnt work so the lad attempted to sort, looking in a cupbord of old bulbs, fuses and batteries. We asked if there was a double available, to which we were told, at 1800hrs, it would be another 15 quid! to which i replied "could get a premier for that!" whilst we were wating for the light bulb, the final straw was the itching sign on my leg of an insect bite. Luckily at this time the bags were still in the car. we made our escape and went in a premiere...
£60 for a king size double, large room, view, nice reataurant, nice ensuite, no insects and nice freindly staff, and a checkout of 1200 midday. Go to Premier!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ridevespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

I stayed at the Winston hotel with a group of friends. The hotel was good value for money at only £28 a night inc breakfast. The rooms were compact and bathrooms small but perfectly acceptable. I would like to highlight the best features of the hotel.... early check in, brilliant service from all the staff, relaxed atmosphere, very good breakfast, excellant pub facilities and overall perfect venue for our group.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieHartlebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

The room was very small...It said ensuite, but it was not really what you'd call ensuite. the shower was next to the bed, and the toilet was in what used to be a cupboard by the entrance door. ultra small room where they managed to fit a double bed. The breakfast was a joke! half a slice of bacon, tinned tomatoes warmed up....god knows where they bought those sausages...i felt I was chewing some kind of artificial meat.
If you pay £27 on lateroom and you are just after a bed to crash in, then fine. you'll have your tea and cereals and juice the following morning. But for £50 it was a bit insulting
I would be horrified to serve a breakfast like this to friends who stay over.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyflo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.1 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#24 of 24 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.4 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#13 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winston Hotel

Property: The Winston Hotel
Address: 51 Archers Road, Southampton SO15 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing