We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guest house I have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mayfair Guest House
Ranked #1 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best guest house I have stayed in”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the Mayfair in October and can honoustly say it is the best guest house I have ever stayed in. Lovely decor, spacious bedroom, very comfortable bed, really nice breakfast. Mark and Andy were very friendly and welcoming. If you are planning to stay in Southampton, I would highly recommend staying at the Mayfair.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    70
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
124
286
143
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night but very impressed! Spotless room, very comfortable bed, very nice building and room very spacious! Breakfast was very nice. If I ever come back to Southampton would definitely stay again. Thanks Mark and Andy very nice welcome! My only small negative point was the shower not really designed for a 6 foot plus person.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed five nights, excellent breakfast which included fresh fruit, beautifully clean room with little extras that are so important, and tea coffee facilities in the room. Mark & Andy extremely helpful. Pretty good location with train station walking distance. If in the area would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed five nights, being a woman on my own it was perfect, Mark was friendly and helpful, giving advice on travelling around, parking, things to see, where to eat etc. The Mayfair was lovely and clean, the room very comfortable, with extra touches like tissues, cotton wool and cotton buds.
The breakfast was very good, it felt like nothing was too much trouble. My highest recommendation would be that I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We tried to get in the Mayfair in August this year, they were booked up. Then went for September and managed to get in then, not the dates we wanted, just had to juggle them around. We were given the family room, it was lovely, like you were in the penthouse. Our stay was for three nights and for two of them, unfortunately, Mark and Andy were away, no problem, we had the lovely Zoe to look after us. What you see on the pictures are what you get. When we go to Southampton again we WILL book with Mark and Andy again. You'll love it there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have stayed in several Southampton guest houses over the years and without doubt this is the best. Everything is spotless and the breakfast was excellent. Will definitely stay here again next time I am in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We travelled from Guernsey for my husband to have an operation at Southampton Hospital. We decided to stay at The Mayfair after reading the glowing reviews, which we now know are so warranted. Such a lovely place to spend our two nights. We were warmly welcomed by Mark and shown to our room in No.10 property, which is their self catering accommodation (opposite the Guest House). It has a communal fully equipped kitchen which could be used at any time if needed, excellent idea. Our bedroom and shower room were superbly appointed and so comfortable. Breakfast was served in the Guest House, beautifully presented with nice table linen and matching china, and the full English breakfast was cooked fresh to your liking by Mark (absolutely delicious). We cannot speak more highly of the Mayfair and the superb way Mark and Andy present the accommodation to their guests. We have to return to Southampton in 6 - 8 weeks and we will definitely be contacting Mark to see if they have accommodation for us.

Room Tip: Room 3 in No.l0 property very spacious with comfortable super king bed and an added bonus of a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Guest House

Property: The Mayfair Guest House
Address: 11 Landguard Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayfair Guest House is a small, family run establishment offering high quality, award winning 4 star accommodation in Southampton, Hampshire. All of our 8 rooms are spacious and comfortable and are equipped with remote controlled flat screen digital televisions (with integrated DVD players), alarm clock, hairdryer,refreshment tray, bottled water, luggage racks, central heating and free wi-fi. Ironing facilities are also available. Most rooms include en-suite facilities and we offer a choice of single, double, twin, triple, superking and family rooms.A comfortable guest lounge is accessible throughout the day equipped with a digital television and DVD player. Breakfast is served in a separate Dining Room and consists of a full english breakfast, fish dish, omelette or continental option. We pride ourselves on using high, quality locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mayfair Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing