We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mayfair Guest House
Ranked #1 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Used the Mayfair for 1 night b&b and cruise car parking. On arrival we were made a cup of tea and a chat with Mark, who was a very good host. Our room was very clean and spacious with an en-suite shower. The Mayfair is about a 15 minute walk into the centre of southampton and there are a selection of restaurants along the route. The breakfast at the Mayfair was very good and Mark arranged a taxi to take us to the cruise terminal. The Mayfair is well situated for cruise parking, being about a 10 minute and £10 taxi ride to the terminal. I would highly recommend the Mayfair and will use again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Excellent B&B in Landguard Road, which is next to Shirley, and at a reasonable walking distance from the city centre. The rooms are very nice and clean, especially the ones with ensuite bathroom which are very spacious. Breakfast is also really good, and can even be served quite quickly when you're in a hurry. I stayed there for almost 3 weeks while searching for a flat, and I did not regret my choice at all. I would likely recommend the Mayfair to anyone coming to Southampton!

Room Tip: Rooms with ensuite bathroom are the best ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheoFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A very friendly welcome with a cup of coffee after our journey. We had a clean, comfortable and pleasant room and delicious breakfast and would highly recommend this b&b. Very convenient for Southampton theatre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfair999, Owner at The Mayfair Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I've been staying at the Mayfair now over a number of months and must say I am as impressed now as I was back then, I first stayed around the Christmas period and the Mayfair stood out well above the rest of the quest houses within Languard road by a very long way, attention to detail and a very homely feel with all the Christmas decorations on display, Mark and Andy make you feel like part of the family and are always there to lend a helping hand and also enjoy friendly banter with quests which I feel is very important. The breakfasts are extremely good and with a varied menu and the best poached eggs!, I stay here a few weeks at a time and as I say first impressions count and they are as good today as back in December.
I have already recommended the Mayfair to a number of people and I hope to visit here again in the future.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Alfie_2422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfair999, Manager at The Mayfair Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thanks so much for your excellent review and we are glad to see that our standards aren't dropping. We look forward to looking after you a little longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were made to feel so welcome after a particularly harrowing day. The rooms were gorgeous and ours was very Vintagy! Lovely clean en-suite, everything beautifully decorated to a high standard. Brilliant location and near to city centre. The breakfast was superb with some fab presentation. Thank you Andy & Mark for a wonderful stay. Will definitely come back (if you'd have us of course)!!! Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priceypoos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfair999, Owner at The Mayfair Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you both again in the future! Kind regards, Mark and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

When we visited Southampton, we arrived amid a horrendous thunderstorm and turned up at the Mayfair Guest House like 2 drowned rats. Mark invited us in and made us a lovely pot of tea whilst we dried off. Although we were early, he showed us to our beautiful room and let us settle in. Nothing was too much trouble - maps were provided, recommendations of places to eat etc.

Breakfast was gorgeous, and cooked fresh to order. The breakfast room is small - so you may have to wait a little - but I'm sure if you don't mind sharing a table you would be o.k. Mark also allowed us to store our luggage until we returned to collect it in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cj0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Convenient location, parking available, cosy and immaculately presented room (the one in the main photo). The owners are friendly, and very accommodating. I can't wait to have an excuse to return! Breakfast was lovely too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaynesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#6 of 25 in Southampton
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#7 of 25 in Southampton
1,030 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Guest House

Address: 11 Landguard Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: £69 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayfair Guest House is a small, family run establishment offering high quality, award winning 4 star accommodation in Southampton, Hampshire. All of our 8 rooms are spacious and comfortable and are equipped with remote controlled flat screen digital televisions (with integrated DVD players), alarm clock, hairdryer,refreshment tray, bottled water, luggage racks, central heating and free wi-fi. Ironing facilities are also available. Most rooms include en-suite facilities and we offer a choice of single, double, twin, triple, superking and family rooms.A comfortable guest lounge is accessible throughout the day equipped with a digital television and DVD player. Breakfast is served in a separate Dining Room and consists of a full english breakfast, fish dish, omelette or continental option. We pride ourselves on using high, quality locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mayfair Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing