We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mayfair Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Highfield House Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
809 results
Traveller rating
736
70
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
736
70
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bmark andyperfect hostsguest loungequiet streetplace to stayfull english breakfastvisiting southamptonon arrivalbreakfast was deliciouswonderful staymayflower theatretrain stationcity centrea short taxi ridebed and breakfaststayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 809 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for two nights before cruise.mark and andy make you feel at home as soon as you arrive.
excellent breakfast both mornings, cooked fresh.would stay again and would recommend.room was very comfortable and clean, hope to see you both soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This place is a GEM. We stayed four days and relaxed although we had a busy schedule in Southampton.
My wife particularly admired the decor whilst I could not see how anything could be improved.
We have ourselves 3 much admired properties which are rented out and we thought we were pretty good but Mark and Andy do it all so much better. If you are reading this review then go ahead and book. I am certain that you will like it and it is also very good value for money.
Other reviews tell you about room size, layout and quality of fittings. so book with confidence

Room Tip: We were in Room 7 and it was very good. I can not speak for other rooms but it would seem unlikely that all the bedrooms are not to the same standard. The Public rooms were spotless too.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfair999, Manager at The Mayfair Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thanks so much for your kind comments. I am glad you liked the décor and enjoyed your stay so much. Hope to see you again in the future! Regards, Mark and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for the first time last month and can’t fault it. Felt at home the moment we entered and were greeted by Mark, so warm and friendly. We were shown to our room which was beautiful, spacious and spotlessly clean as was the en suite with its lovely toiletries. The room had lots of storage, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The whole house is very tastefully decorated and is more like a small hotel. The breakfasts, which were deliciously cooked by Mark, offered excellent choice that we worked our way through the menu having something different each morning. There are plenty refills of toast, tea and coffee.

The B & B is in a quiet location but only a short stroll to the station, theatre and the centre of town. We had no problem parking as there is ample space either in front of the guest house or across the road at their other property No 10. It was lovely to return to our room each evening to find it serviced to a high standard and a welcoming comfy bed! We enjoyed our stay so much that before leaving we booked for two other visits we are making to the area again this year.

To summarise it is a beautiful, spotlessly clean house, with excellent breakfasts and in a great location. Mark and Andy are two lovely, warm, helpful guys who work hard maintaining a high standard to ensure your stay is a memorable one. Looking forward to our stay with you again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shakers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at The Mayfair Guest House 18mths ago on two occasions.We enjoyed our stay so much then that we did a return visit once again in May,staying 2nights before doing our UK trip for 5 weeks.We then returned for 4 nights and this time staying at number 10.This being self catering.We can highly recommend both.Mark & Andy are great hosts and only to pleased to make your stay one to remember .Its so nice to have a lovely spotlessly clean place to come back to after a busy day,and a comfortable bed.Their rooms are large and plenty of light.Thanks again Mark & Andy we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dooley220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Mark was such a great host! He makes a great breakfast happen every morning. He keeps the place in tip top shape. Great location for walking to sites as well as the train station. Very convenient. Very comfortable beds as well! If your in Southampton than this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camille d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews