We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed”
Review of Yalda - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yalda
Price range: US$16 - US$25
Cuisines: Persian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
southampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Never been but thought I'd let trip advisor users no this restaurant is now closed and under construction along with other properties to be turned into flats/apartments

I've only put the other info as trip adviser wouldn't allow just a comment

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank baggsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs to be open and be consistent!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Yalda for years now, and are known as regular customers. In this time, the owner has changed hands many times, yet the food has always been lovely!
Under the management at the moment, the opening hours are touch and go as they only open when they feel like, so it is shut early hours or not open at all most days. Don't to by the times on their website or leaflet, ring first to make sure they are even open as they rarely are. The food is also a bit touch and go. We always order the chenjah. One day it could be very delicious with lots of flavour, the next it will be dry plain lamb, similar to that of a donar kebab.
Whilst this restaurant is a favourite of ours, the problems are the dodgy opening times and the food will alter day to day. Never a problem with previous owners. I think if they were to be consistent it could work, otherwise they should sell up :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireKas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
2 reviews
“Delicious Sunday lunch with friends”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We met up with 10 friends at the restaurant and all enjoyed a traditional meal of starters and kebab. I always test a Persian restaurant by their Mirza Ghasemi (aubergines, garlic, tomato and egg dish served with freshly baked bread) and I can assure you that Yalda makes a delicious Mirza Ghasemi.

Persian food is delicately flavoured, even their kebab is marinated in a unique way. It is unlike any other cuisine in the world. Bread freshly baked, kebab juicy and tender, rice fluffy with saffron. What more can I say? Go there and test it for yourself!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrannyDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced poor quality food”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The starters we had were quite impressive but then it went downhill. The main courses were meat based and lacked flavour.

The food was quite pricey for the quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheAuditor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A good chance to sample one of the world great cuisines”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. The lamb in pomegranate sauce was well balanced, the kebab just right and the rice delicious. Not surprisingly the yoghurt was brilliant. My only gripe is that the yoghurt drink is presumably authentic but too salty for my taste. The atmosphere was a bit lacking but it was mid week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hilarymunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yalda also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing