We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Namaste Kerala - CLOSED

Namaste Kerala
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Found this very unassuming South Indian restaurant in Southampton. Visited on a Wednesday evening, one of the party vegetarian. Asked for a recommendation off the menu and was not disappointed. Nothing too much trouble, will tailor spiciness to your taste. Nice and relaxed, no rush. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Metalmickey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    27
    17
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Great food, great service :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Went to Namaste Kerala last night for the first, and certainly not the last, time! The food was reasonably priced and delicious, a wide variety of choices and, happily, many vegetarian options. The service was friendly and professional, and the atmosphere was warm and welcoming.
I only wish I didn't live in Montreal so I could eat there more often!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service takes far too long”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I went here for lunch last April (11/4/2013) and yesterday for dinner and it takes far too long for a meal. In April they had 3 other diners and for lunch it still took 50 minutes for 2 courses with 15-20 minutes between course.
Yesterday they were at 90% capacity and took 70 minutes for only 2 courses. When I said I was in a hurry and wanted to pay, the (assumed) manager said no but he would hurry them up; someone else from the kitchen came and said it would be soon but it still took another 8 minutes (already I was waiting 15 minutes after finishing my course).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

A group of us had a great meal last night. The service was faultless – polite and attentive without being overbearing, and the food was excellent. The dishes I ordered looked and tasted just like food I have eaten in southern India. And the menu prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FarehamMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best restaurant I've visited for a long time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I visited Namaste Kerala for the first time on saturday evening & had a fantastic time. I've been past several times & never got round to eating there. So anyone who does the same, make sure you go as you will not be disappointed!
The food was absolutely delicious. The menu is vast & contains not just your usual array of curries but a number of traditional indian dishes which you do not normally get. There are a lot of vegetarian dishes so if you are a vegi then this is the place for you!
The decor was modern & sophisticated. The staff were friendly & very attentive - we never got to the bottom of our glass before they had topped it up!
I would recommend trying the spicy poppadum - almost like a big crunchy, thin biscuit. Delicious!
I can't wait to go back & sample some other dishes. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sareeta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Namaste Kerala also viewed

 
Bursledon, Southampton
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing