We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay”
Review of Cargo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cargo
Ranked #9 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another good stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I've stayed at Cargo a number of times, and my stay this time was up to the usual standard. The location of the hotel is perfect for bars and restaurants, the price is reasonable, the rooms are boutiquey and really very nice. As usual, the staff were friendly and helpful. No doubt I'll be back ...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thingumy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    82
    44
    21
    15
See reviews for
26
111
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

On arrival at 6.30 we were shown up to our room to find the bed not made, we had to stand around while it was then made up. The room was pleasant clean and comfortable.
Breakfast the next day was an experience, we had to ask for a pot of tea three times before it turned up other tables had to ask where their orders were a number of times the waitresses cid not write the orders down so as soon as someone else spoke to them they forgot what they were doing.
Rooms at the front of the hotel get quite a bit of noise at night as Oxford Street is very busy and is packed with bars and restaurants. which would be a problem if you like an early night or do not want go out.
On checking out food and drink had been added to our account that we had not had. the barman apologised and took it off but did not seem surprised if you had eaten and drunk there it could go un noticed.
With a bit of staff training this could be a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not a night owl ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfresco1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Having stayed in hotels all over the world and learned never to hold one's breath, The Cargo was an extraordinary find. A last minute booking for the International One-dayer (England/India at The Rose Bowl) was always going to be a challenge but having waded through various websites I booked The Cargo. Attending the cricket first, and having subjected myself to the delights of the Hospitality marquis, rain delayed the start of the game which led to a very late exit from the ground. Eventually turning up at The Cargo after midnight (22.00hrs check in!), I was met by staff clearing out the bar area who were polite and welcoming. I was dreading the room having seen that the ground floor was nothing more than a bar - but when I opened the door I was very met with something I didn;t really expect. Everything was clean, modern and well-maintained, although the room was on the bijou side it mattered little as the arrangement of the accoutrements was well thought through. The bed was comfortable, the sheets crisp and pleasant on the nostrils, there was little noise from the outside (Oxford St, has a few bars and restaurants) and traffic was barely in evidence until about 07.00hrs. I didn't try the breakfast as I was in a hurry to move on the next morning.

In summary, if you needed to be close to the city centre or the docks and were looking for somewhere reasonably priced, clean and friendly - I would heartily recommend The Cargo.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_h186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich England
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

stayed here for one night for business / pleasure, check in was quick and easy. room and bed very comfortable, nice flat screen tv. Stewart was a very good host. The location of this hotel is first class as it's right in the heart of all the clubs / bar area.
i would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkertwotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Cargo is a stylish bar with rooms rather than a hotel. Unfortunately for us neither function worked well. Our Loft Room was comfortable but the shower wasn't working - once fixed we went down for a drink and dinner. The bar staff, despite advertising their cocktails, were unable to make a martini and furthr had no lemon twist or olives to hand. A noisy hen party, complete with bride to be dressed as a banana, persuaded us to eat elsewhere, tho' the menu looked enticing, for the eating area is firmly part of the bar.

Returning late after a good dinner at La Regata (Spanish tapas - recommended) the bar was heaving, noisy and not a spot for a quiet drink before bed. The noise disturbed our rest until nearly 2.00am.

Breakfast was well cooked but poorly served. No butter for toast (eventually someone went to the local shop to buy some), confused service, no bread for toast.

On a positive note all staff were very willing and polite - and Stuart, the owner, had happily re-booked us into the hotel when we had had to cancel our July booking at very short notice. However, overall this is a bar where linters can stay and not a quiet boutique hotel for a Southampton stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My third stay in the this trendy hotel confirmed to me that their personal and friendly customer focussed approach leaves there local competitors miles behind. The rooms are decorated to the high standard and are comfortable and unique with a wonderful Asian influence. The position of the accommodation couldn't be better with easy access to the shops or the docks or a stroll in the park just a minute away. Oxford street itself has a laid back feel with some great restaurants and bars right on your doorstep. The staff are all happy to help and often go out of their way to ensure you are looked after. Basically there is no-where else I would stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beefikeefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I stayed in the Loft Room. I have to say this is a fantastic place. I stayed with work, liked it that much I have been a few times. I think the breakfasts are great.
In summary it gets my vote.

Pomeroy

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,777 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cargo

Property: Cargo
Address: 20-22 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cargo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cargo Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing