We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break in Southampton.”
Review of Cargo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cargo
Ranked #11 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Weekend break in Southampton.”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Booked via late rooms...advertised as a boutique b&b which is an excuse for charging £95 per night for very small rooms with free bottles of water. The restaurant is advertised as being top class...hopefully, the chef cooking breakfast doesn't do dinner given the burnt french toast and odd tasting eggs royals. My tip, save £30 and stay at premier inn or another cheap chain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    84
    46
    22
    15
See reviews for
28
114
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Arrived to find very friendly staff, only had one room booked due to a cock up by booking.com! Very quickly overcame the problem and gave us an upgraded room at the same price. Rooms very clean and fresh. Staff more than helpful and obliging. Not the busiest of bars on Oxford Street but we enjoyed a few drinks following my sons graduation ceremony and the home cooked breakfast the following morning was excellent, it was a shame we were in a rush to get back on the road again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank engineer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This lovely small hotel is ideally situated if you are sailing from the Ocean terminal. It is just a short walk away from the terminal. The Hotel is above a very nice bar and restaurant that serves a great breakfast and lovely meals. It is reasonably priced. We had Room 1 which faced on to the street. It had a lovely blend of original features and modern convenience. The hotel is not ideal for disabled people as it has no lifts due to the age of the building. However I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to any cruise guest looking for an affordable hotel prior to their cruise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I booked this hotel as it was cheaper than the usual nameless faceless large chains in the city .. Also my colleague told me to go to the centre of town as the larger ones are not anywhere in particular ie close to town ..

I found this place on booking.com .. Looked on their website and it looked good ! Pictures gave the impression of a modern, boutique and clean type of place.

I was sceptical and as I looked for it was beginning to wish I had gone for the bigger chains but I was really pleasantly surprised ..

Room .. Clean, modern, large with a modern bathroom .. No bath but walk in shower

Bed .. Comfy and linen was clean

Location .. On Oxford St so you have a great choice of restaurants

Service .. Friendly

As an extra surprise breakfast was included and the food is really good .. I had a French toast and tea and it was really nice ..

All in all I recommend ... Much better than those large chains and a great location too!!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel to avoid any noise from the street .. Room 9 is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navster07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Being a local restaurant owner myself down busy Oxford Street, I decided to take a stroll in cargo for lunch. Loved the snack menu had a fish finger sandwich. Shame it was salmon would have preferred cod but nevertheless the chips and sauces were lovely. The young lady who served us (believe she was the manager) was very friendly and a pleasure to speak to.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Came down on a Sunday afternoon to break up the journey between the north east and the ferry to the Isle of Wight. Good selection of drinks, ample parking nearby, rooms comfy, free wifi and excellent food too. Staff were lovely and breakfast was great even humouring my dad's very specific requests for how his eggs are cooked. Will definitely stop again...would go so far as to say I was pleased we picked that over the familiar branded hotels especially regarding staff attitude and location.

Room Tip: No lift so if you have heavy bags might be worth asking for a lower room...although the staff did of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyElyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed in the Loft Room as we wanted something a little bigger and different.
We were able to check in early which is always good and the room was nice, although up three flights of stairs (they do offer assistance with your bags so don't be afraid to ask if needs be).
There was a problem with the water and a light bulb was out in the bathroom, which I mentioned as it's quite dark in there, and they quickly changed it (if people don't report things they won't know about it!)
The room was light and spacious-nice big windows and comfy bed. Some things were a big knocked about and I would say that with the sloping ceilings it might be difficult for people who are tall (i'm only 5ft 8" and it was fine but you do have the feeling you're going to hit your head even when you're not!)
The shower was good when we figured the water problem out and there were teas, coffees, water and biscuits there for us.
They should maybe leave the code for the Loft Room wifi ready up there so you don't have to call down and ask, it'll just be easier for the staff if they're busy.
The staff were helpful and the breakfast was lovely the next morning. Great Cappuccinos!
Can't knock the location...just round the corner from the shops and over the road from our beloved Casa Brasil restaurant!
Have to say the Loft room wasn't worth the price but we still had a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wetravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.8 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 24 in Southampton
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cargo

Property: Cargo
Address: 20-22 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cargo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Cargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cargo Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing