We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but flawed”
Review of Cargo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cargo
Ranked #12 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, but flawed”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A nice boutique Hotel in the Oxford St area of Southampton, near to various mid-range eateries.
Rooms in old building have been tastefully refurbished, with modern bathrooms but old furniture - not 'antique' but appropriate to the age of the building and decor. Narrow stairs up to the accommodation, so not good if you have a heavy case.

I hit two problems:
1. though the bathrooms are modern, it is clearly a few years since they were done, and a bit of maintenance wouldn't go amiss. My shower failed to work (well, water came out, but the temperature control was broken) so I had to go up two flights of stairs to use one in another room. That one was also in need to maintenance, though at least I got my shower.
2. service in the restaurant (actually the bar) was so-so. I waited >15 minutes for a plate of pastries for breakfast, when there was only one other person in the room! Attitude or bar-staff was not exactly friendly.

A little more attention to detail and a bit of maintenance and this would be great. As it happened, it was frustrating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. I am glad you liked the refurbishment and apologise regarding the shower in the morning, we have taken your comments on board regarding the bathrooms. We hope to welcome you back in the future to see our changes.

Kind Regards,
Cargo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    84
    46
    22
    16
See reviews for
28
115
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guildford UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Nice little hotel that is really a bar with rooms above. The rooms are very comfortable and the beds amazing. No baths, only showers but I knew that when I booked.
Staff were really very friendly and helpful and breakfast was very good as well.
We stayed on a Thursday night, but I imagine that on a Friday or Saturday the rooms might be fairly noisy.
Would stay again mid-week.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL_ALB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Cargo and that you found the staff very helpful. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Cargo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Booked Cargo for Valentines Eve and wasn't disappointed !Great attentive service , really tasty food and reasonably priced , good wine too !!Also the jelly beans with the bill were a lovely touch , will be back again when in Southampton !!:-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faucet I, Manager at Cargo, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We're glad you enjoyed Valentines with us. The Jelly Beans are a firm favourite here too! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Very cute hotel with character, great location near lots of restaurants and bars.
Good restaurant and bar downstairs which is handy if you want to have a quiet one and stay inside the hotel. Breakfast is chosen from a menu so you get it cooked up for you the way you like.

Would have preferred to have a window that opened a bit to let some air in, as the rooms were very warm, however there was a fan in the room which we put on all night which helped, so at least the warmth of the room was taken into consideration.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faucet I, Manager at Cargo, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the fan helped make your stay more comfortable and we will have a look at what can be done with the windows to make it better for you. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here not long after Christmas for 1 night and it was simply brilliant!
We arrived in the afternoon and was greeted by a very welcoming blonde lady, we had paid online and so we're swiftly taken to our room, as they were fairly quiet they kindly upgraded our room! The room itself was lovely, very spacious, had all the mod cons and a beautiful ensuite, the shower was massive, could probably have fitted a football team in there! Not to mention a very comfortable bed! One feature that we found genius was the 24hr access to the hotel, simply swipe your room key and you're in, you don't have to walk through the bar or if you're out on a late one, you have a simple way in and you don't have to disturb anyone! After a peaceful, comfortable sleep we woke up and went down to the restaurant for breakfast which was delightful! Locally sourced ingredients and freshly cooked!
All in all a fantastic stay! Would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be returning! Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott8919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have just returned home from a 2 night stay and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we booked the loft room which was amazing, very clean and comfortable and a very good price, the staff were very attentive and professional. The decor all be it a little tired added to the character of the building. The bar is reasonably priced, and the breakfast very good. The private entrance for guests is a big plus, would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archie0778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at Cargo Saturday 28th December for one night. Arrived early and was shown to our room straight away. Stayed in 'The Loft' room which was a beautifully decorated room and looked exactly as the pictures (very rare!) The lady who showed us to our room was very welcoming and helpful. Requested breakfast in the room on Sunday which was delivered to our room without any extra charge and we were also given a late check out. Had a very pleasant stay, can not fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,811 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.9 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 25 in Southampton
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cargo

Property: Cargo
Address: 20-22 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cargo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Cargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cargo Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing