We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good and excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slug And Lettuce

The Slug And Lettuce
Ranked #513 of 840 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Slug And Lettuce, Southampton 103-105 Above Bar Street Southampton Hampshire SO14 7FG MANAGER: Jennifer Killeen. OPENING TIMES: Monday - Thursday: 10am - 11pm Friday - Saturday: 10am - 12am Sunday: 10am - 10:30pm A relaxing haven in the bustling high street. All the options are covered, from a quick lunch, to a relaxed evening dinner. Popular for cocktails with 241 all day every day, and you can even give cocktail making a go with our cocktail masterclass! Also very popular for private hire too. You can add a touch of class to your own party by hiring our upstairs bar, and if there are enough of you, it's free!
Southampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good and excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We went to the Slug and Lettuce in a large group for a Christmas party. We ordered our food in advance - and got it all half price because it was a Monday. There are not many places you can get steak and chips followed by a chocolate pudding for less than £7.50! I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and speed of service. None of the orders were missed or mixed up, which i expected with such a large group at such a busy time. Decor was nice. The only niggle was the lack of space round our table. Could hardly move our chairs back to get out without hitting the wall or table behind, and the waiter struggled to serve us because of this.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Akkarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    46
    25
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT WE WOULD EXPECT FROM 'SLUG & LETTUCE'!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Arrived at 2pm on a Saturday afternoon, looking forward to a really nice meal. No welcome on the door. Asked at the bar if they had a table for four, having already passed three or four empty tables. Told that there 'might be' tables upstairs, but it would be an at least an hour's wait for food!!! Absolutely disgusted and walked out, taking our £60 worth of trade elsewhere.

There were also empty tables outside stacked up with uncleared dirties. What a very poor impression! If 'Slug and Lettuce' (Southampton), have staff issues, they seriously need to address them. Perhaps they need to send them for a day's training to their branch in Winchester where we have had lots of lovely meals. Maybe a senior manager needs to drop in and inspect the place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philmex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We popped in here for some food and beers one September evening. This is a nice place. Nice friendly helpful service. Food was very tasty and appeared to be cooked to order, this is always good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeosamhOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

If you are not familair with the Slug and Lettuce chain, it is one of those foodie pubs where you find a table and order at the bar.

The menu had a good variety of food, including steaks, burgers etc and some mexican food. I ordered a burger, which was enourmous and really tasty - calling it a "burger" doesn't really do it justice. The food portions are all large; we ordered platter to share as a starter (between 3 of us) and we were all strugglng to finish our main courses.

The service was really good, both at the bar and at the table. I was always served straight away when I went to the bar. The place was busy but the bar staff were keeping on top of it. The food came fairly quickly after ordering - not too quick so we felt rushed, but we weren't left waiting.

I liked the atmosphere in the pub, but it may not suit everyone. There is background music and lot of noise from conversations of other people. It's just really a busy atmosphere, without being too loud to be able to have a conversation with others at your table.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Farnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for a bite to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

My boyfriend and I are regular visitors to Slug Southampton!
The food is really high quality and the portions are pretty good too! This is even better of course on a Monday when they do 50% off food- can't beat that! The BOGOF cocktails at weekends are also great value with loads to choose from!
The only issue is that it can be hard to get the attention of a waiter/waitress if you are not seated in the raised seating area for food! Getting another drink or ordering your bill can be a lengthy process sometimes!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Codecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Slug And Lettuce also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Slug And Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing