We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ennios Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Stayed one night before we set sail for a cruise. The service was great and we had both dinner and breakfast in the restuarant, which was lovely.
However, apart from the swanky bathroom and L’OCCITANE toiletries the room was a slight let down. It was small, had a stain on the floor and some work doing to the air con which didn't look great. Although not the hotels fault, there was also a lot of noise from the road and docks outside. The bed was very comfortable though and we had lovely tea and coffee facilities.
Overall a pleasant stay but not worth the £120 I paid for the room plus breakfast plus parking!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123nicolelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    74
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
182
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Room very stylish - everything is good quality. Breakfast was excellent - good quality ingredients freshly cooked. Staff all friendly and helpful. However, the room was not very clean - dust on bedside lights and on door panels. The Venetian blind in the bathroom was thick with dust and had not been cleaned for some time. Three of the bulbs in the bathroom needed replacement. With improvement in cleaning and maintenance, this hotel could be a excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiserWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

My husband and I had a 1 night stay here to go to the theatre. Staff were very helpful in allowing us to book dinner after the show, even though that was half an hour later than their restaurant's closing time. Moreover we did not feel rushed through our meal and enjoyed both the food and the service.
We were very pleased with our hotel room (Venus) which had a huge bathroom and spacious bedroom. I though it might be noisy staying above a restaurant in town, but we heard nothing and had a comfortable night's sleep. The shower looked great but there was a slight downside in that there is not a full door to the shower unit and not all the water was caught by the screens - hence I had a bit of a soggy floor by the time I came out!
Reception, both on arrival and departure, was a bit slow in that we had to wait at an empty desk for some 5 minutes each time. This is totally understandable however in the context of this hotel, as it has only 5 rooms, so it would be wholly uneconomic to have staff to man their reception desk all the time.
Be warned that you need to order breakfast the night before if you want it. We were not advised of this on arrival, and it was only when we were reading the hotel's literature in our room at about midnight, that we discovered this, and it was really too late to ask for breakfast at that late stage.
All in all, Ennios is a very nice place for a short stay - especially if you are intending to have dinner in their lovely restaurant. It is also just a stroll into town, so need to hunt for town centre parking spaces if you're going out. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

I've stayed in Ennios twice, once in the summer and recently. I found the recent addition of A/C very welcome as it can get a little warm (even with the British summer!) without it. The rooms were lovely and stylishly decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was brilliant with lovely smelling toiletries, a powerful shower and big, fluffy towels.

Ennios is in a brilliant location - within walking distance of West Quay (the shopping mall in Southampton) and also close to the bars in Ocean's Village. It's a great stay for anybody catching a cruise as it's a brief walk to most of the docks or a very short taxi ride! It's also opposite the ferry dock to the Isle of Wight so a winner if you're off for an excursion to the Island during your stay in Southampton!

The restaurant manager Harry is a lovely man who was attentive throughout our meal (the Ennios restaurant downstairs is owned by the same people). I couldn't have had better service and this only enhanced the entire experience!

Would I stay again? Most definitely. Value-wise, you get a lot for your money and the customer service is a lot better than most hotels I've stayed in. Staff make you feel very welcome and will go above and beyond to help you out.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexiboo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed Friday and Saturday at Ennio`s and had a great weekend away. The room was nicely
presented, clean and tidy with a lovely bathroom, large TV, minibar, good tea and coffee facilities, room safe, a/c and a nice bed. We had dinner both nights at their Italian restaurant which was of the highest quality. The food , wine and service complimented each other, the seafood was fresh and amazing. Their breakfasts are of good value and very tasty. Location is opposite the ferry terminals and within a 5 minute walk of the main shopping area`s.
from The Bird`s Hertfordshire.......

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebirds87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On the beach
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

If you want a superb hotel in the centre of Southampton then stay here !

We came here for the weekend so we could be in easy reach of the shops and bars in Southampton and this place was ideal. We were going to stay at the DeVere but, after consulting Tripadvisor, we chose this place :-)

Easy private parking - right outside the back door of the hotel.
Really great welcome from Rachael
Room was SUPERB - 5* Brilliant layout and EXCELLENT bathroom.


We ate in the restaurant below (they own the hotel) and, again the food and service was first class.

There's a really good bar in the restaurant where you can spend all night without having to leave the hotel.

The staff were happy to give us champagne glasses and even a bucket of ice for our own bottle of champagne which I thought was very good and typical of the level of service we had.

We'll be back !



Note - We were there for a Friday and Saturday night - there is some noise from both the outside traffic and the excellent restaurant (they own the hotel) underneath. Don't stay here if you go to bed at 7pm and are disturbed by a little noise and want total peace and quiet which, incidentally, you don't get in a city centre.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shorehambeachUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

we were tired, cold and fed up after a long drive. As I had chosen the hotel and I have a fussy daughter, i was braced for the sighs, the looks and the silent treatment. But, it was just great to get in to this lovely little hotel.

The rooms are very plush with good L'Occitane toiletries, a powerful shower, fluffy towels and good linens. Staff were exceptionally nice and helpful, printing us maps and finding out exactly where we needed to go.

We only had time for breakfast but that was very good and the lunch and dinner menues looked both intersting adn well put together. Chef is from Rome and is apparantly a very fussy lady which has to be good news.

Would recommend this place strongly

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ennios Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ennios Boutique Hotel

Property: Ennios Boutique Hotel
Address: Town Quay, Southampton SO14 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ennios Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ennios Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing