We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“garden apartment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primrose Cottage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Primrose Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“garden apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

4 miles from Southampton on a .5 acre property, with 3 units( 1 with ensuite) and large lounge in back garden.
No steps to climb!
Spotless and comfortable and great breakfast.
no credit cards though.
Friendly hosts.

Room Tip: ask for ensuite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flanders, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I go to Southampton fairly often to visit my daughter and had stayed in a number of B&Bs in the areas including Winchester. Primrose Cottage is very well managed and reasonably priced. The rooms are of a good size and kept in a very new condition. The owners are friendly. Definitely will be my first choice in future visits.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leMiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Primrose Cottages in October whilst visiting a very sick friend in Southampton. We originally booked for 2 nights, but had to extend our stay to 4 nights and Janet couldn't have been kinder and more accommodating during this difficult period. It was the perfect place to stay - more like being at home than in a b & b which was so relaxing for us after a stressful day. I recommended Primrose Cottage to our friends in Southampton and I believe some of their visiting family also stayed there and enjoyed it very much. On another note, Janet makes the best porridge I have ever tasted! The whole experience was as perfect as it could be under difficult circumstances.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Had forgotten how wonderful and personal a b and b could be after years of using the big hotel chains for overnight stays; this was ideal for us as we were sailing from Southampton. The annex (2 rooms ) was fantastic, the garden lovely and as for the massive swing, let's just say we went back to childhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NosirrahS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludgershall.Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

What can i say this was a fantastic stay.
From the moment we turned up we was made so welcome by the owner Jan who greeted us with a nice big smile.We stayed in the annex which was had a large common area with dining table if you had your own food,a couple of sofas,a large Flat screen TV,a Fridge and coffee and tea making facilities.The rooms were extremley clean and fresh looking.The gardens well talk about beautiful without a doubt.You have breakfast in the main house we had melon to start followed by a full english breakfast which was delicious and endless tea and coffee you could also have toast to follow which we did not as we was totally full up by that point.
If we go and visit friends again we will most certainly book to stay here again without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slicknix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed in the main house, in an upstairs room. It's a large room with a comfortable double bed, a single bed, bedside lights, plenty of seating and a TV, though if you want to use facilities such as the fridge and the tea and coffee making facilities you'd need to go to the common area in the annex. We had no need of those facilities and whenever we arrived back Janet offered us tea or coffee. Although the bathroom was not en-suite, it was for our exclusive use, just across the landing. It's very large for a bathroom, well decorated and very clean. It has a bath as well as a separate, very good shower. The well-kept garden was full of birdsong and a pleasant place to sit and sip the Champagne pre-ordered by our son!

We had a strong WiFi signal in our room, as it’s next to Janet's office, where she has the wireless router.

Before we arrived we thought it a bit far from town, but we found it well placed. Driving to Portswood and to Southampton University out of rush hour were both easier and much quicker than we expected. It was also well placed for our trips to Winchester and to Portsmouth for the newly re-opened Mary Rose Museum (which was amazing, fantastic and not to be missed!), though again it's worth avoiding rush hours if you can. The generous breakfasts started with fruit juice as well as fresh fruit followed by a traditional "full English breakfast" and then by toast and marmalade.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OldAandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upon Thames
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here on Saturday night, with a group of friends, they were in the main house, 3 couples, stayed in the annex with a girl friend, plenty of parking in a lovely spot, with a beautiful garden, absolutely immaculate accommodation. Delicious breakfast, endless tea and coffee. Superb hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueUponThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Primrose Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Primrose Cottage Allington Lane | West End, Southampton SO30 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing