We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant recommend this B&B highly enough.”

Rivendell Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #14 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
june28
1 review
“Cant recommend this B&B highly enough.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Did an overnight stay here recently due to having a job interview in Southampton. Couldnt recommend the place highly enough. The newly-decorated rooms are very comfortable and are kept spotlessly clean.
I found the couple who own/run the place to be very friendly and obliging, and the hearty breakfast is not to be missed! If youre looking for a great-value B&B within walking distance of the train station and central Southampton, look no further.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveMcDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
24
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We found the host and hostess so very friendly and helpful. They were well travelled themselves and new exactly how we felt. We would be happy to recommend a stay here and if we were ever to go back to the area we would definitely look them up.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eehill17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

I stayed in the Rivendell Guest house for three nights in September as I had just started my university course and my arranged accomodation had fallen through. I had just come from another B&B in Southampton and Rivendell was a completely refreshing change. My room was extremely clean and had everything I needed including a little table for my laptop which the hostess kindly added on seeing I had a computer. There was so many nice little touches that I havent seen in other B&Bs like q-tips in the bathroom and a dressing gown to wear after a shower. The hosts couldnt have been nicer, they were so friendly and helpful to me, offering me advice on place to go in Southampton and making sure I knew how to get to the university. They really made me feel at home and gave me a lovely welcome to Southampton which was something I badly needed after being let down by my previous accomodation. There is also a little sitting room for guests to sit in in the night time and lots of books and DVDs to borrow from. I would highly reccomend this guesthouse for anyone on a visit to Southampton, its like a home from home and with the lovely hosts so much nicer then staying in a big souless highrise hotel block. If youre staying in a guesthouse in Southampton, pick this place!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

I really enjoyed my stay here, the hosts were very pleasant, helpful and met all of my requirements with open arms! They were friendly, welcoming and the breakfast was to an excellent standard. I shall certainly be returning again. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Property: Rivendell Guest House
Address: 19 Landguard Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendell Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell Guest House is situated in a quiet residential road, within walking distance of the train station, city centre, shopping areas, Mayflower Theatre, cinemas and restaurants. We are conveniently situated for Ocean Village Marina, the docks, cruise terminals and red funnel ferries for the Isle-of-Wight. Southampton University and Southampton hospital are approximately ten minutes by car or taxi and the airport is approximately 4 miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing