We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$73
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 05/08
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
49
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomquiet areaclose to townlast minute bookingcomfy bedfree wifieileenhostsaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Thank you, Brian & Eilleen, for a very pleasant stay at your lovely house. You certainly added extra value to our holiday trip to the Solent area and offered a terrific breakfast and a perfect location! Thanks for your tip about the nice pub around the corner :)

Room Tip: A great B&B with great hosts!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_and_K_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Dear Eileen & Brian,

thank you so much for the warm welcome, your great touring tips, a delicious breakfast and the excellent service! Hythe was lovely, the old pier train, too!

To everyone who's looking for a comfortable B&B with high sleeping quality, clean rooms & helpful hosts, we can recommend Rivendell guest house!!

It's all said in the comments above/below, nothing more to say but THANK YOU, again!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannineG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We arrived in Southampton on a cold and dark evening. As we eventually managed to make our way to Rivendell Guest House, the hosts welcomed us in very warmly, and served us tea and biscuits straight away. As it was very late and there was a football match going on that night, the hosts were concerned about our safety (we were a young group of tourists), and decided to serve us dinner free-of-charge instead of letting us go out to find a restaurant on our own. They also did laundry for us upon knowing that we badly needed to wash some of our clothes.

We visited Southampton mainly to visit a friend and also because it was on the way to Bath, where we were due to enrol into university. As such, we were unaware of the attractions in Southampton and where was worth visiting in this place. The hosts were very friendly to us, chatting with us each day and giving very good recommendations on places to visit.

Location-wise, it may not be the best, as it is a 15 min walk away from the train station and a 30 min walk away from the city centre. However, the walk is not too inconvenient, and it would be hard to find another B&B with a much superior location, since most of the B&Bs in Southampton are located around the same area.

Nonetheless, because of the hosts alone, I would strongly recommend anyone looking for accommodation in Southampton to look no further than Rivendell Guest House!! I cannot guarantee that they will extend the same gestures (free dinner and laundry) to everyone (it would be very hard for them to do so), but the point I was trying to make was that the hosts are very willing to go out of their way to make your stay a very pleasant one. Do choose Rivendell Guest House, and I am sure you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HL_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

A comfortable and very clean guesthouse with everything that you need (particularly breakfast and internet included). Brian and Eileen were incredible and caring hosts and really make you feel welcome. They are situated in a good part of town as well, with close access to the docks. I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Southampton or the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank md123430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Did an overnight stay here recently due to having a job interview in Southampton. Couldnt recommend the place highly enough. The newly-decorated rooms are very comfortable and are kept spotlessly clean.
I found the couple who own/run the place to be very friendly and obliging, and the hearty breakfast is not to be missed! If youre looking for a great-value B&B within walking distance of the train station and central Southampton, look no further.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveMcDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews