We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
50
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationsingle roomquiet areaclose to towncomfy bedminute walkfree wifieileenhostsaccommodationensuite
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights in a twin room with ensuite. Room was Cosy, warm, clean, plenty of storage, would have liked the shower to be a bit more powerful but otherwise no issues. Breakfast was lovely. Owners Brian and Eileen were really friendly and helpful.
Location is fantastic, the road is quiet, short walk to local pubs, shops etc. 5 min walk down the hill to the train station, you can catch a free bus to the ferry terminal, also stops at west quay shopping centre. runs every 20 mins or so.
Would love to visit Southampton again and would definatly stay at Rivendell

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kleeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Arrived here on a Sunday evening, was met by a warm welcome and shown to my room, a single. This particular room had a bathroom separate to the room, opposite the corridor, but this is not a problem as you have sole use of that bathroom which includes a shower. All spotless, very clean, and well presented, with everything you could need during your stay. The guest house itself is a 5 minute walk from the nearest restaurants and shops, and a 10 minute walk to the central train station.

Breakfast is excellent, really nice food and lots to choose from. Cereals, fruit, a Full English, and complimentary orange juice and grapefruit juice.

The owners are fantastic, friendly and chatty and will always go that bit further to make sure your happy and comfortable, a massive thank you to you both! I really enjoyed my week staying at Rivendell and would recommend to anyone in the blink of an eye, if im back in the future, you will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorsetcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I had a wonderful time while staying at Rivendell Guest House. It was very clean, comfortable, and hosts Brian and Eileen always made me feel at home - I cannot thank them enough for all the help, tips, and lovely food! I'll never forget how they made me feel so welcome in a place where I didn't know anyone. I would definitely recommend this B&B, you'll find the most friendly hosts, lovely accommodation, and excellent location for great price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ines-lc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We spent 2 nights in a lovely, spotlessly clean room. Not huge but had everything we needed with a well stocked tea tray with biscuits replenished daily! Owners were lovely and friendly and breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDrysdales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Very impressed with this B&b, I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed excellent service and friendly hosts along with very reasonable sized and tasty breakfasts. Room was clean, tidy and I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews