We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel at home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amberley Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amberley Guest House
Ranked #19 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feel at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

I was recommended Amberley lodge guest house by a family member who had previously stayed here and was delighted by their quality, cleanliness and their warm and loving atmosphere.
Prior to this we booked in for a 6 month stay. We instantly feel in love with the home and its owners. Not only are Eliana and Peter the bnb owners but they are and have become very close friends with me and previous guests.
I would always recommend Amberley lodge to anyone who is looking for a bnb in Southampton!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murraya123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
8
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

If you are looking to feel home away from home this is the place for you. Both owners are extremely nice and welcoming, and every guest feels as if they are coming in to a warm Italian home. The breakfast is good with a nice selection of cold and hot options are available. The rooms are decorated as mom would, with comfortable bedding and as many pillows as you might need. The b&b overall is clean and if we have to point out a negative feature, our only inconvenience was the shower. The temperature and the pressure were not easy to figure out and once you thought you had it, it would drastically change. Therefore, we opted out showering, and since the owners were so nice we did not have the guts to let them know our concern over such a small detail. Overall, the b&b is great value for money, with amazing hosts and a very comfy feel.

Room Tip: It's a city, so please be aware that traffic or outside noise is possible, but we slept very wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FsuGaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

The bed and breakfast is lovely! Impecabbly clean and the breakfasts are lovely. The owners are so kind and always willing to help you out. I was very suprised by how little you have to pay to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marmiterupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed at Amberley Guest House for 1 month due to a visiting period at the University of Southampton. Eliana and Peter have always been very friendly and helpful. When my family joined me for two weeks (I have two children aged 2 and 5), it was like being at home!
The rooms, bathrooms and the common areas are clean and well furnished. The location is very convenient for both the city centre/train station and the Common (a wonderful park within the city). The University (Highfield Campus) can be reached in 15 min by bike.
Overall I recommend this guest house both for business and for families.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground level have a better wireless connection!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at Amberley Guest House for 2 months for a work placement. The owners are very nice and friendly. The house is very clean and as a self catering guest I was able to find everything I needed in the kitchen. If you choose an en suite room you have access to your own bathroom with a real shower (not those bathtubs with a shower over it). For everyone else there are 2 spacious common bathrooms on the first and second floor. There is a TV and Internet access in every room. On foot it takes 15-20 min to the city centre, but there is also a shopping street in the other direction (5-10 min walk). A big park to relax, have a BBQ or go jogging is quite close as well. The location of the guest house is therefore very good. All in all I can only recommend it. I would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I was recommended this place by a work-related colleague and I found the guest house owners very friendly, helpful, caring and ineresting.
I stayed only one night, the room was spacious and comfortable, both room and bathroom very clean. I liked the "art deco" furniture and the breakfast abundant and good. Eliana gave all lots of information and detailed instructions on how to get to places in town. I will certainly recommend it and will go back with my family. Many thanks!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I recently stayed for one night with a colleague on a work-related trip. The atmosphere was polite and friendly, the place immaculate and the breakfast excellent. The fact that the owner is Italian was an added bonus for us as we are Italians living in the UK. Viva l'Italia!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landguard House
Landguard House
#12 of 43 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mayfair Guest House
The Mayfair Guest House
#1 of 43 in Southampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alcantara Guest House
Alcantara Guest House
#8 of 43 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunters Lodge
Hunters Lodge
#6 of 43 in Southampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fenland Guest House
Fenland Guest House
#18 of 43 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberley Guest House

Property: Amberley Guest House
Address: 1 Howard Road, Southampton SO15 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing