We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Claremont Guest House
Ranked #15 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
UK- London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Value for money”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed here for an extended bank holiday weekend, we were greeted by Rio (a dog) and things only got better from here. The room was nice and spacious, the service was excellent and friendly, breakfast times were flexible which worked great for those lazy mornings, or simply when you cant seem to get your hand of the snooze button.

The only criticism, which could perhaps be partly our own fault, was that the cleaning lady came into the room on two different occasions without knocking. Its not a big deal but it did almost make an awkward surprise (for her) as I was coming out of the shower.

Like I said, this guesthouse is superb on all categories, and like other people have also said, the parking is very limited. Fortunately we didn't personally have any issues with this, but I can see that it would happen so keep this in mind if you are taking a car, which is not entirely necessary, since the guesthouse is located at a short walking distance of all you will need.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_lopezy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    22
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
22
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, England
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We booked an overnight stay at The Claremont as we were watching the Rocky Horror Show at the Mayflower Theatre, which is literally in the next road, and the main reason we chose this B&B. We are so pleased that we did, as it is a little gem!

The owners were very friendly and made us feel right at home straight away.

The room was a double with en suite & shower on the ground floor, everything was very clean, the bed sooo soft with plenty of pillows, tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen tv and best of all, lots of drawers and wardrobe space.

The owner advised us that a Full English Breakfast was included in the price and told us that as our room was not booked for the Sunday, we could eat breakfast and go back to bed if we wanted as there was no need for us to vacate the room. That's gotta be a first!!

The breakfast was a monster, everything freshly cooked and tasted wonderful. Strange how the smell of bacon cooking is better than an alarm clock at waking you up in the morning..

One of the cleanest and friendliest places we have ever stayed in and we will use them again next time we are visiting Southampton.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevnDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights good friendly welcome,breakfast is 120% freshly cooked the owner takes pride in his work good start to the day..the outside isn't much to look at little freshen up would be good..all in all i'd stay here again,clean friendly and 5 mins from the city centre..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I booked here for one night as I had an early business meeting in the city centre. Location was more convenient that the usual Premier Inns. I was pleasantly surprised. Spotlessly clean room, great shower and nice breakfast. Friendly welcome, including a gorgeous dog!
Was nice to have an abundance of coffee/tea/milk sachets in the room - it's a small point but most big hotels I stay in only give you two or three.
Would certainly stay again and am happy to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denice66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

STAY HERE! My boyfriend and I came here for one night. This place is perfect! Easy walking distance to all attractions. The room itself is lovely, comfy bed, generous pillows, plenty of storage, heated perfectly and good pressure shower. I wish we were staying for longer as it really is the perfect place to explore from. The owners were really friendly and helpful with ideas for places to eat or see. The breakfast was full English.....with all the trimmings and generous serving. I love this place if I was in Southampton again I would definitely stay here and will be recommending to all my friends.
The only thing that could do with improvement to make this property 10/10 would be to descale the kettles in the room more regularly, I couldn't use mine and a full length mirror on the back of the doors in the room would be awesome. Other than that I can't fault this place wicked value and charming place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stayed here for 1 night, Saturday 1 Sept as i was collecting friends from the Cruise terminal early next morning.
Easy to find, owners were pleasant whan I arrived and nothing seemed too much trouble.
Very close to the Cruise terminal and also for a good night out (Bedford Road).
Excellent breakfast available at 8am (which really suited me) and it set me up for the long journey back to Yorkshire.
The room was clean and everything I'd expected for £30.00 - Real value for money as far as I was concerned.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APH1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I, booked to stay here last minute on Friday 30th June, as we had a wedding to attend. we arrived in the afternoon and shown to our room. It was a double room (8a) with a toilet and shower just down the hall. The room was basic with a flat screen T.V and was very clean. The toilet and shower room was also very clean. The bed was really comfy , we had a really good night's sleep. Breakfast was really nice, and the proprietor's were really friendly. central location and value for money

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneoftheregiment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Guest House

Property: Claremont Guest House
Address: 33-35 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Claremont Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Claremont Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing