We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping stay over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

It was a lovely hotel but it needs some TLC. Specifics would be that the leisure facilities need updated and cleaning as it really does let down the whole hotel. It does seem with the reviews on here that there is a 'tired' look with the hotel so it would be interesting to see if the management take note......

Staff are lovely, especially breakfast staff.

Food is good quality if a bit overpriced.

I would recommend this hotel as a good base for west quays shopping etc!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,880 - 1,886 of 1,940 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Pros:

* Free internet
* Large room
* Close to town

Cons:

* Could not alter the heating in the room as the radiator control was broken
* Bathroom felt unclean
* I suspected that basic room checks were not undertaken before guests checked in (toiletries renewed, pen/pad added etc)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We have stayed here twice in the last 3 years to visit the boat show - the location is great albeit there is considerable road noise during rush hour. The first time we went it was getting a bit run down however we couldnt believe the second time we went back that they had still not spent a penny on the place. Considering how expensive it is, the room was shabby, food in the bar and bar service poor, some staff could not speak English properly. Restaurant was a bit better / breakfast good although expensive. Unfotunately there is nothing "Grand" about this place at all & judging by the lack of people in the bar & restaurant in the evening there are better venues in the area - the De Vere is no more than 3 star

Room Tip: Go somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parkplace2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stayed in De Vere on 2nd February. We had been out for the day and had arranged to have dinner in the Hotel. We had a 7pm booking for dinner. We arrived back to the hotel around 5.30pm and had a quick nap before getting ready for dinner. We went to use the shower, hot water seemed to be taking it time. Then we realised, there was no hot water, and we had to take a cold shower.

We had pre-booked a deal that includes dinner, the cheeky bit of this is that they add on a service charge to your bill based on the set dinner rate. This should have already been included in the price as it would appear it is a "compulsory" service charge.

We didn't even get as much as an apology about the lack of Hot Water. They were able to post our invoice under the door, but unable to post an apology to the guests. Very very poor service.

How this Hotel is a 4 Star Hotel is beyond me. I used to spend a considerable number (150 a year) of nights in Hotels mainly in Ireland. This Hotel would not come up to 3 Star standard in Ireland.

The Hotel is very tired and dated, and it would appear the also the boilers and control system.

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms overlook some pretty unspectacular scenery, a municipal car park and publi pool t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the negative reviews we were a little worried. No need. The hotel is lovely. Our room was on the 3rd floor with an outside balcony over looking the Solent.It was spotless and spacious.King size bed, tea & coffee facilities,mini fridge,iron and hairdryer. The breakfast was excellent too,even though it is a buffet style the full english was piping hot. Hotel is in walking distance of the shopping centres and the Titanic trail. We didn't eat in the restaurant but there are plenty of pubs around. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Myself and family stayed in three rooms for the weekend, and had a lovely experience. The rooms were comfortable (beds superb) had everything we needed, and the staff were friendly and helpful.
We had breakfast both mornings, and the food on offer was plentiful, well cooked, hot and appealing. Once again the staff were friendly and attentive.
If i had a criticism, it would be small things, like the spa attendant that give us our towels for a swim on Sunday morning was a it miserable, don't think a smile costs a lot and certainly makes a huge difference to the client's perception. We had to call housekeeping on Sunday morning for tea-bags, and no we hadn't used them on Saturday, as had been out all day.
The TV remote was missing and the separate swivel mirror in the bathroom had been taken from its frame and not replaced?
But overall we had a good stay and we will return.
Tom on reception was very welcoming and nothing seemed as though it would have fazed him.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe courtyard room, so although on the 1st floor was at the back of the hotel and theref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessDunmow_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Took advantage of the group's winter holiday break offer and was not disappointed. Yes the hotel is beginning to show its age with the fabric of the hotel needing major investment, but we understand the hotel has been sold and will be undergoing a major refubishment over the next two years. This was the only downside but am very happy to report that the staff and service we received were tip top. When we arrived at the hotel the young man on reception recognised us before he new our name, which is very good considering we had only stayed once before and that was some six months or so ago. Our bags were delivered to our room by a most pleasant member of staff. The room had a sea view but as mentioned before needed some refurbishment, it was clean, warm and very comfortable. The weather was extemely cold during our stay but the hotel throughout was warm and comfortable. We went down to dinner and were greeted as if we were old friends and they immediately new that we were staying for three nights and could not have looked after us better throughout our stay. All the staff in the restaurant at dinner and breakfast were a credit to the hotel and i hope this filters through to the management. The food was excellent,we ate from the fixed price menu, the A La Carte menu on the second night and on our last night we had the specials and I have to say that the pressed belly of pork and scallops were to die for. Breakfast is a very good experience and an excellent start to the day especially the gammon,beautifully carved by the breakfast chef and the eggs benedict were absolutely divine.
Finally on the morning of our last day after breakfast we learnt that the M27 was blocked and the A31 was closed by the police carrying out an investigation.This was our route home and we were so glad of the help of the young man on the concierge's desk who spent some time getting details of an alternative route home avoiding these problems. Following his directions we arrived home safely only having to cover an additional 30 miles. We will be back to enjoy the excellent levelof hospitality we received on this and a previous occasion

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must to see the busy port in operation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swtraveller186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#12 of 25 in Southampton
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £80 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing