We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pepper pig overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pepper pig overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Read all the reviews about this hotel and got seriously worried about our stay. We booked this as part of a package which included tickets for PAULTONS park. We stayed for one night only, with 4 small kids. The staff were more than helpful, the breakfast was fantastic, great choice of food, the swimming pool area was great and again the staff were welcoming and extremely pleasing. Great location close to shops and harbour and only 10 mins from the theme park we were visiting. Rooms were slightly dated and bathrooms could have done with a facelift, but the size and comfort of them outweighed this. Would stay again, and the price we paid was more than reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    476
    409
    233
    145
See reviews for
270
698
57
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

A well kept hotel, everything close to the shopping and docks area. Large room, clean and a great veiw. Breakfast was very good. We will book here NeXT time we are in the area! Only negative thing was the parking that i feel should be included in the price we paidfor the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

From previous experience I will not eat in this hotel. I eat food at breakfast and that was out of a packet only. This could be a terrific hotel. Alas, the reception has got to be the slowest in my experience of twenty five years of using hotels for business. The rooms need a refurb - shabby. The lack of conditioning means that a win had to be opened. I was then subjected to the noise of traffic that never sleeps!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warlock1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

After a bad experience with some Monkfish Chowder in December I was a reluctant guest. Slight improvements in the reception staff meant we didn't have to queue to check in this time. Some very helpful staff are trying to improve the experience....however....rooms are shabby with the windows locked shut and the staff don't have the keys. No air conditioning in summer means a stuffy too warm room. There was an electric fan to waft the warm air round. Both the telephones had the keys missing so dialing reception was hit and miss.
The early morning call at 5.00am would have been great if I'd booked the early morning call. Some poor guest didn't get theirs I presume.
Not 5* Barely 3* Keep trying.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 924Makers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeje, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Really surprised that this hotel which was a 5 star was so poor.
First off we had a few complaints and the staff, all of them were very helpful and friendly. No complaints there.
However the hotel is so shabby and in dire need of a refurb. The manager expressed that over 3 million is allocated for this in the next few months.
Apart form the peeling wallpaper, mouldy bathrooms, no hot water the main complaint is this hotel does not have air conditioning in any rooms.
Our room was very hot and we had to have the window open all night and the traffic noise was horrific as we had a room facing the sea but also facing the busy road.
Food was good
The hotel discounted our stay which was decent of them and were very apologetic with the condition of this hotel.
With aircon and a refurb I am sure it will be ok
£9.00 for kids breakfast is to much!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jph101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Generally a good hotel, except for the beds. I don't know how old they are but they really sag in the middle making them a real killer for your back! Good breakfast but bar prices varied a great deal. Some things needed a revamp. The jacuzzi was out of order for the 2 out of the 3 days we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Echoing some of the other reviews on here the front desk is a major failing at this hotel. At check out (before 8am on a Sunday morning so hardly a busy time) the queue was about 8 deep and moving very slowly. Although two staff were on duty one was a trainee being aided by a more experienced person so effectively less than one person (allowing for the extra time it takes to train someone) on duty. Another front of house person walked past and ignored the problem, he was then pursued by someone in the queue asking him to help, which he did, but really you shouldn't have to beg for service in a hotel. Not the fault of the staff obviously, all down to poor management. The aircon in my room was very poor, luckily the windows open but in a hot summer this could be a problem, I also agree with other comments on here that charging residents £10 to park in this location is just plain greedy,

Room Tip: Rooms at the front suffer from traffic noise so avoid if a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTFTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Property: Grand Harbour Hotel
Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing