We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont like these negative reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Myself and my partner came for the night check in was fine the systems went down and printer was playing up again it was fine as we understood stuff like this happens no ones fault however the guest checking in infront of me was rather rude and arrogant but you get people like that. The room was great couldn't fault it and it was so quiet and relaxing. We went out for dinner then went to your bar again great atmosphere. On the way back to the room a guest was giving the receptionist a right volley of abuse he handled it very well sometimes I wonder about why people come to hotels cause some just moan for the sake of moaning. All in all great stay we loved it here and will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,809 - 1,815 of 1,966 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here because we were attending a wedding that was being hosted here. Trying to organise the stay here from the other side of the world was difficult to say the least, all we were asking for was an early check in so we could get ready for the wedding, we were told to contact them the evening prior, not easy if you are on an international flight. Upon arrival, the room we had been allocated had not been cleaned, by the time we got a new room time to prepare ourselves was running short. Although this room had been made up, there was still a lack of cleaning evident. A poor stay indeed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Check in was smooth but reception staff seem polite but not overly communicative. The rooms were of a very poor standard the furnishings were shabby and the bathroom basic. The fridge did not work and had a very unpleasant smell. We were booked in for two days and despite 6 phone calls and a personal visit to reception no attention was given to me until the evening before we left and then I was told there was nothing could be done about the fridge as new owners had taken over and there were no replacements available. It was explained that a full refurb programme was planned. I suggested that guests should be made aware of this as we booked the hotel in good faith expecting a certain standard which is certainly not currently available. On the plus side the bar area is very ice and the champagne afternoon tea for two is exceptional. Breakfast is also good. Like other reviewers we use hotels in this area for pre cruise and I will certainly not be using this one again as compared to the others it is seriously overpriced for what it offers

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is beautifull but is let down by both check in staff and management. Stayed at the weekend booked in at 3pm finally got our room at 5pm after staff tried to sell it again as we wete standing at reception desk. Then when we checked out payment was taken twice which they are now denying management dont reply to emails and we are getting the run around avoid this hotel like the plague.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occasions over the last few years as an overnight precursor to going on a cruise from Southampton. Our most recent visit was the least enjoyable of all our stays, despite the convenience of being close to the cruise terminal and being able to enjoy the views from our room over the Solent.

The downside started at checkin, when we were told we could not have the room booked the year previously. At checkout the following day we were told our bill was £30 more than anticipated; thankfully I was able to produce an email confirming our booking and room rate, and was able to resolve the issue without apology from the reception staff.

Some of the problems appear to have arisen due to the takeover by World Hotels in February 2013, and the information on the system of the previous owners De Vere.

We were disappointed with the quality of the rooms which are now looking tired and in need of refurbishment. We were also disappointed with the quality of the food offer at the evening meal and the number of staff available to serve guests. Hopefully the refurbishment programme promised in the Autumn 2013 will improve the quality of the rooms - but no doubt the price of a stay will increase! Hopefully there will be a commensurate improvement in service, which can only be brought about by staff training. Will we stay again? Perhaps not.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Len H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We arrived at 12:30 and was told curtly that rooms are not guaranteed to be available until 3:00pm. Despite being in the hotel for 3.5 hours and politely asking every hour at 3:00pm the room was still not ready. Having seen many people arriving after us and getting their rooms immediately, this was very annoying!

The room furniture was very tired, and the bed should have been replaced ten years ago, you could hear and feel every spring in your back.

It was a very hot evening and there is no air conditioning in the rooms and the windows don't open. A very uncomfortable stay.

The staff in reception and the bar couldn't seem to care less, if you sit at a table and expect to get a drink, you will be disappointed. If you don't go to the bar you are simply ignored.

The restaurant was a surprise, very good good and excellent service, it was like stepping in to the hotel that you would expect for the money.

To rub salt in the wounds, when the bill came they had added £10 for car parking that we didn't use and wanted to charge a £2.50 surcharge to pay by credit card.

In short, avoid at all costs!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesHickman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

love the view and balcony location. However the furniture in the room was just tired!!! was in UK for 12 days and this bed was the worst we had slept in. You could literally feel the springs in your back every time we rolled over. DD slept on the sofa bed and said it wasn't any better. Breakfast was good the following am, and concierge let us stow our bags for an hour while we bid our DD good bye on the SAS boat. The did also allow us late checkout for 10 pounds per hour, We didn't think that was to bad since it gave us someplace to hang out until her evening sail away. Staff was nice, just get some new mattresses and furniture and the hotel would be great!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seagal28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#13 of 25 in Southampton
1,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £81 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing