We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back to stay.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Despite being told our room was guaranteed to be ready by 3pm it wasn't and despite having a deluxe room it was incredibly crowded as we have two children and the sofa beds were made up. There was no room to manoeuvre around the additional beds, and the sofa bed mattresses were INCREDIBLY uncomfortable. I just thought it was my teenager doing the usual teenage complaining, until I tried it myself - I can honestly say I have never laid on such an uncomfortable bed in my life. They really would have been better off on the floor. Luckily we found some blankets in an overhead locker in our room - they had stains on them, but I put them underneath the sheet and my teenager did manage to sleep eventually. The room was uncomfortably hot, the window was broken and hung by one corner when opened, and there was a pile of dust and hair by the towel radiator in the bathroom. This was supposed to be a deluxe room. What a joke!

The only good thing about this hotel was the food - breakfast was nice and the eating areas were pleasant. However, there is absolutely no way I would ever set foot in this place again, especially since there is a Premier Inn within sight of this hotel, and I've had much better and cheaper experiences staying in those.

If you're staying here - good luck, hope you have a much better experience than us.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a deluxe - there's nothing deluxe about it. Do not subject your children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadafabtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    510
    454
    256
    166
See reviews for
298
775
61
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived one day ahead of our cruise to relax & unwind from our long transatlantic journey. After reading the many frightening reviews, we had no idea what to expect.

We arrived early (10:15 am) to a very empty lobby. We were pleasantly surprised when the desk clerk informed us that she had a room available for us (lucky!). We were assigned room 348, a Deluxe King (as we had booked). Again, we were pleasantly surprised to find the room in very good condition...none of the peeling paint or dirty rugs as previous reviewers have commented on. We also had a lovely balcony with a view overlooking the old city walls & the water.

We chose to have drinks & an early dinner in the bar, which serves light bites, sandwiches & the like, just what we needed. The wait staff in the bar were very friendly & attentive. We slept well on a comfortable mattress & had no issues with the bath/shower situation. The bathroom lighting was excellent & there was a nice makeup mirror (magnifying, thank you) on the wall. The buffet breakfast the next morning provided a sufficient array of foods.

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay & feel we got what we paid for. Oh yes, did I mention the complimentary wifi?

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FitTravellerLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We arrived on the Thursday of Cowes Week and obviously the hotel was going to be crowded, and we were not disappointed! The wait for check-in was interminable, and the process and amount of paperwork the hotel generates is astounding. Despite it being possibly the busiest time (19h30) there were only two out of the three terminals being used. 15 minutes later we were given the key to a very pleasant room, with full amenities (apart from a pen to be able to fill in the breakfast card for room service - so we skipped it altogether!) and a large, comfortable bed.
We checked out the vast restaurant and equally large bar, but felt they had no charm or intimate feel to them, and left for an amazing Tapas Bar around the corner.
The following morning, after a decent, quiet night's sleep, we went through the same fiasco for checking out. My credit card was taken for the second time, and more paperwork was thrust at me (did I mention the copy of the invoice under the door during the night?). Again only two work stations were open, although several staff seemed to be walking behind the counter to check on various things, only to disappear. This process also took about 15 minutes.
On the plus side, the spacious car park by the hotel was helpful and not too expensive, and the concierge was helpful in sending us off to a more attractive eatery with some atmosphere.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor at the back of the hotel, in the 230's. Very calm and a decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketmanGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

As with many people this was a one night stay before a cruise at the end of June 2013, having booked a double room a year before and still owned at that point by De Vere. On arrival found out the car parking beside the hotel carries a charge of £10 for the night on top of the £169 for bed and breakfast. Reception was very busy but to be expected, the staff were friendly enough but looked run off their feet. We had paid extra for the room as it overlooked the harbour, but it was very tired,peeling paint on the cornice, dusty skirting boards, hair on the carpet, and the shower door was rotten and discoloured on the bottom part of the frame. In general it was not up to the level of other 'budget' hotels in the area, the only redeeming part of the visit was the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My partner and I were heading to Southampton to celebrate a friends birthday. We looked at all the hotels in the area and were not disappointed when we arrived at the grand harbour! Great, friendly reception staff, lovely room with balcony and sea views! Considering our friends paid £80 for the ibis budget I think we got a serious bargain staying here! The same old saying applies about other negative reviews on this site- you get what you pay for! If you want a luxurious suite then don't expect to get it for nothing! Thanks to the grand harbour and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked an overnight stay here before our cruise. Service on the reception was terrible when we arrived, only 1 person working. We were acknowledged by the receptionist and we were advised she would be with us shortly. 15 minutes later another person appeared to help out. By this time there was a queue behind us but he started to serve others that had appeared, totally ignoring us. After a long journey down from Scotland this was not what we wanted and I eventually had to go and interrupt before he started to serve another customer. We had a meal in the bar which was really good and breakfast had lots on offer even though it was so busy. Staff in the bar were very friendly and again in the restaurant for breakfast. We had no view from our room, it overlooked a flat roof but we were only there for 1 night. Room was a bit tired looking and shower head was missing of shower which caused a flood in the bathroom. When we reported this at reception when we checked out they weren't particularly interested. Hotel is convenient for an overnight stay before a cruise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindawwhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugby warwickshire england
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We booked a pre cruise overnight stay including 15 days parking, we found the hotel to be clean and the staff friendly.

We had a room that overlooked the front with a balcony, the room was clean and had all the usual facilities for an overnight stay.
We had an evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant both were very good and plenty of choice.

The night we stayed there was a prom event at the hotel we were concerned that there might be noise later on but there was no problem at all. Overall the stay was good and we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbytrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Property: Grand Harbour Hotel
Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing