We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday to mary rose and victory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 2 September 2013

stayed here 4 days 26-08-13
convenient for southampton shops and quays
modern hotel striking architecture
spacious roomy comfortable room....tea cofee making facility,secure safe in room,nice bathroom,flat screen tv with sky sports
food good standard 4 star...waiter waitress service.......personally prefer buffet style
all staff very friendly effiicient ...especially girls

Room Tip: high room ..harbour view..although limited...no problem with road noise
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geowales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,842)
There are newer reviews for Grand Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,633 - 1,639 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

On arrival we had to wait 30 mins to check in and the queue of people behind us grew whilst we were waiting. The room was clean and everything worked, we were surprised not to have air-con available in the room, it did get rather hot during the night.
We had to queue for 10 mins to be seated for breakfast and then had to further queue to collect the breakfast from the self service area. The standard of the breakfast was ok once we finally got it.
To check out we had to queue again this time for around 20 mins, the staff were slow and seemed to make a simple process hard work.
Overall we were disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel has fallen into dis repair. The rooms filthy, water went off in the morning and didn't come back on so we checked out. Over priced. Spa and pool area should come with a health warning. Roped off jacuzzi, green mould all the way up the stairs , stairs rotten and rusting, dirty towels piled up in the changing area. Booked spa treatment no one in reception to greet me, treatment started late and didn't last the full time advertised. Reception never answered the phone. I will never set foot in that hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachyv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here several years ago and whilst I have never rated the food here, our room previously and the service was good. We stayed here for one night in August 2013 and were terribly disapointed. The overall feeling of the Hotel was "run down" it was tired and bare and staff were scarce. Check in was fine, but I was irritated that we had to pay £10 per car to park, when we were already paying £125 for the room, we had 2 cars as we had both come from different areas. The room was apparently a superior room, but was just tired and indeed of a re-vamp. The bathroom was even worse....whist it was a good size, the shower was tiny, the shower tray was yellow it was so old and there was limescale and mould all over the inside of the door. The toilet was also covered in lime scale and looked unclean. The bath robes in our room were old, stiff and one even had a knot in the tie belt to hold it together! All in all this was a pretty disappointing stay. We advised the staff on check out of our dissatisfaction, and whilst the young girl on reception was helpful she was powerless and said that management would contact us. So far they haven't and I did advise that I would leave feedback. All in all, I would NEVER bother to stay here again....There are better palces in Southampton I am sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MummaFish48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed one night 15 Aug prior to Cruise on Queen Victoria. Having stayed before we decided to ignore bad reviews and hope hotel was as good as on previous occasions. Check in was swift and efficient - very pleasant receptionist. Room was perfect for our needs - yes chairs were slightly worn but have seen worse and certainly didn't impact on our stay! We didn't have evening meal as we prefer to choose a restaurant (and there are lots to choose from) in the town. Breakfast was excellent - if anything there was a wider choice than when it was a De Vere Hotel. Check out was trouble free (no queues) and taxi to docks was ready and waiting. No complaints at all - perfect relaxing start to our holiday. Location is ideal for the docks and shops.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonberger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Well what to say about this hotel terrible dirty rooms broken lamp shade so much dust behind the head board mould in the shower pealing wall paper dirty carpet sheets smell room number 210 shocking service was offered 20% discount from front of house manager shocking service hotel staff say everyone complains not the same hotel like before had a fly in my beer avoid at all costs try out the hotel across the road the pig in the wall looks like there picking up on the customers was fully booked shame will stay there next time

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost stay in travel lodge
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Booked a room the night before my daughter left for Semester at Sea. Our room was 105 and it was probably the worst room I have ever seen. Stains on all the furniture, including a large one that looked like blood that almost covered the entire seat of the desk chair. The desk lamp didn't work, the shower head was broken off, the 1 fan that was in the room was not enough to cool the room and of course, we didn't know the room did not have AC. Everytime we called the desk the phone just rang and rang, so had to make a trip to the desk in person and of course, no one was around. When we checked in no one said you had to "book" a cab since they are not allowed to be near the hotel, so after we figured that out and tried to call the front desk to "book" a cab, again, no one answered the phone. Luckily, we were not there long and will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockinrobinksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
4.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £75 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing