We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed 1 night with my husband in a executive double room and this hotel is lovely. The rooms are a good size and the bed is extra large plenty of hanging space for clothes, hair dryer and iron in room, bathroom good size. Hotel facilities great and breakfast was plentiful. Very close to local shops.

Room Tip: High floor great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu B, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Deb113

I was very pleased to read your reveiw, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We work hard to meet our guests expectations and ensure a warm welcome.

I will forward your comments on to all team members and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Harbour soon.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,644 - 1,650 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

After reading lots of negative views of this hotel I was a bit concerned about how this hotel would be ! On arrival it was easy to park in the large car park, check in was a bit slow with only one receptionist at the desk. If you don't want to eat in the hotel other restaurants are close by, the room was lovely, big clean and bed was comfy. There is some refurbishment needed in the bathroom ( shower cubicle ! ) , Only had one bath towel to share between the 2 of us ( glad I used it before the husband ! ) . Breakfast was excellent rarely do you get black pudding and cooked gammon in a hotel. Overall a relaxing stay with friendly staff and comfy room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princesbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu B, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Princesbold

I was pleased to read your constructive review, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I have noted the points you raised regarding check-in and have spoken with our Reception Manager in order that we may ensure we adequately staffed at busy times. Please accept my apologies that your room was not made up for two guests and that the shower cubicle did not meet your expectations. We have an ongoing maintenance programme focusing on grouting and bathroom areas ahead of our £4million refurbishment which is due to start in the New Year, this will include the full refurbishment of all bedrooms, our restaurant and the bar area and will include the installation of Air-conditioning in all bedrooms and new beds.

I'm delighted that you were able to take advantage of our great location and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Harbour in the future.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is hotel previously a Devere is fantastic for a pre cruise stay

Right in the heart between the Mayflower and the Ocean terminal this hotel offers a fantastic luxury stay for a good price.

The rooms although being a tad hot, are very spacious, most with balconies and very spacious bathrooms, also with fridge that you can stock yourself.

The breakfast at the hotel is wonderful with a lot of different options.

Hotel in areas looking a little dated such as the pool, but for a pre cruise stay I would 100% recommend this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graemo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu B, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Graemo07

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on this site, I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please be assured I will forward your feedback on to all our team members.

With regards to the updating of the hotel we will be starting a £4million refurbishment in the New Year which will include the installation of air-conditioning in all our bedrooms, plus new beds and the full refurbishment of bedrooms, our restaurant and the bar.

I trust you had an enjoyable holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We recently had our corporate event at this hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful from start to finish. I really didnt have to worry about anything. I was staying in the hotel and ate lunch, evening meal and breakfast. The food is of a very high standard. The bar needs a tiny facelift which it is getting in 2014 but the restaurant is amazing. The breakfast buffet is fantastic for choice and cooked fresh. No grease in sight. The swimming pool is lovely, although the stairs and surrounding areas could do with a lick of paint but this does not hinder you swimming in a lovely pool. There is no restriction as to when children can swim either which is great. As for holding a business event, we will definitely be planning it again next year at the same venue. It was hassle free. The rooms are of a good size and again could use a lick of paint but they are very comfortable and they are getting air conditioning in in 2014 which will make a massive difference. A credit to the Devere Group.

Room Tip: one overlooking the water is lovely but others have nice views of the old walls in Southampton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu B, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Claire L

I was delighted to read your review following your recent business meeting at the hotel, thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments.

The hotel has actually been independently owned since earlier this year and as you mentioned we are to receive a £4million refurbishment, which starts in the New Year. This will include a full refurbishment of the bedrooms, restaurant and bar area plus air-conditioning is being installed in the bedrooms and there will be new beds in every room.

Its a very exciting time for the hotel and your acknowledgement of our continued hard work to meet our guests expectations is pleasing.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel not only on business but also pleasure.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

For the price we paid i expected more from the hotel. No air con and very long queues at the reception. They have a car park which they charge guests for!! The best thing about the place was the breakfast and the swimming area... however we wanted to take the kids swimming so we went out to buy them trunks at 6.30pm and when we returned to the hotel at 7.30 we were told that no kids after 7pm!! Why didnt they mention this when we told them we would return in an hour after buying swimming costumes?! VERY ANNOYING and 2 very upset kids!!
Service all around needs to be improved in this hotel and they need air con as it was very stuffy in our room!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihir2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu B, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Mihir2013
Thank you for your review, I was pleased to read there were positive elements of your stay and that your enjoyed breakfast in our Number 5 restaurant prior to your departure, however please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment you and your family experienced with regards to the swimming times for children and the lack of communication of this to you. Please be assured I have discussed this with our Leisure Club Manager in order that a similar situation does not occur in the future. We do have our in room guest directory which highlights infomration such as this for all guests.

With regards to the lack of air-conditioning I am delighted to say that we are due to start a £4million refurbishment in the New Year which will include the installation of air-conditioning into all bedrooms, along with new beds as part of the bedroom refurbishment plus a full refurbishment of our restaurant and bar.

We are continually striving to meet our guests expectations in all aspects of service and standards, therefore feedback such as this is important to us.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Harbour Hotel.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I've recently stayed at the hotel with my husband and baby daughter as we had a family party to attend just outside of Southampton. We chose the hotel as it has a pool and the price appeared pretty reasonable and competitive compared to others in the city which looked to have little to offer as alternative options. I must admit I'd read a few reviews of the Grand Harbour prior to our visit and I could feel myself starting to have the convulsions of a panic attack whilst driving on the M27 that our room would be small, devoid of natural day light and the bathroom would be covered in mould as per the negative reviews that were going through my mind.

We arrived and I have to say the hotel is very grand looking from the outside and very elegant inside, the reception staff friendly and helpful and almost straight away I started to feel relaxed.
The room was larger than I expected, it had the cot we had requested in it and was very comfortable, warm and clean. We ate lunch in the bar which was excellent albeit a little slow in arriving.

The pool was great, ideal for children and we enjoyed swimming in there with our daughter who absolutely loved it.

Breakfast the next morning had everything you could want and having had a very comfortable sleep, we were in good spirits. It tasted great. It was a shame our waitress seemed a little 'uptight', but our exerberant daughter did however manage to get a smile out of her eventually.

All in all a really good place to stay and I really wouldn't listen to anything negative on here, any faults are very minor and the people that have given poor reviews can only be very unhappy individuals, or have meaningless lives needing to nitpick about trivial matters. Recommended stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu B, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Laura

I'm delighted you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and thank you for positing such a positive review.

I will of course discuss all your comments with our Team Managers as we continually strive to improve our service and meet our guest’s expectations, and such constructive feedback is important to us.

We are very excited about our forthcoming hotel refurbishment where we will be investing £4million in to the Grand Harbour Hotel, I truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back so you are able to experience the changes we make.

Kind Regards
Mandu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is not the first time I have been to their leisure center which is located upstairs. The hotel and restaurant and especially the bar is lovely! However the stuff (in particular some new young female) was extremely rude! Won't go back unless they close down all the gyms in the Southampton.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lola6614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu B, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Lola6614

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced when using our Leisure Club.

I understand that you have discussed your comments with our Assistant Leisure Club Manager, who has responded and resolved this matter to a satisfactory end. As a hotel we pride ourselves on ensuring a warm welcome is received by not only our leisure club members but all hotel guests, and your feedback is important to help us continually achieve this.

On a positive note I am pleased to read that you enjoy visiting our restaurant and bar and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 25 in Southampton
1,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
4.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £83 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing