We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Harbour - still good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grand Harbour - still good”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I think it can be pot luck with a place like this, being such a busy hotel, conferance center, wedding venue etc.
room was good with a cheap upgrade, well worth it, staff were very helpful and professional.
Used the Spa, everything was good with that, but would recommend going when quiet.
Stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last 10 years and I believe it still offers good value but maintaining that luxury feel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevturvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu B, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Kevturvy

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with other readers of this review site. I was pleased to read that you continue to use the Grand Harbour Hotel when staying in Southampton.

I will of course pass on your comments to our team members, we work hard to continually meet our guest’s expectations and it is a pleasure to receive such acknowledgement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    482
    420
    234
    150
See reviews for
274
715
57
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Myself and two girlfriends booked a spa day through Travelzoo, I have used the spa facilities about 18 months ago and it was brilliant, OMG what a difference 18 months can make :o{

This is the worst Spa I have ever had the misfortune to go too, did a Spa Day package. Pool was freezing, steam room had no steam!!! Was supposed to be a facial and massage and neither were like anything I've ever experienced before, the therapists were young and inexperienced... The place was filthy and covered in mould ..on the whole a waste of money - would never go back, everyone was complaining!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is an overpriced disgrace. We stayed for two nights in September. The first night was ok, though housekeeping was not very good and our room service breakfast was late and wrong. However, on the second night we arrived back to our room early evening to find we were right above a wedding (and I mean right above): thundering music and DJ. We could hear every word and sleep was impossible until well after midnight. We complained to the main reception who did nothing and could not move us, we insisted a manager visit our room to hear just how unacceptable the noice was. The next day a manager belittled our negative experience and started bartering with us about how much to reduce our room cost by! We left tired and fed up and left an expensive pair of shoes in our room which - surprise surprise - were not handed in by the housekeeping staff who cleaned our room. I consider this to be theft. The managers are uncaring and rude and don't deserve the business - there are far far better places to stay at a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the first floor on a Saturday night as this is right above the wedding venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

great hotel with nice facilities....good breakfast buffet included with most room rates....near cruise ship pier....easy walk to shops, restaurants....great bar area....good lunch.....easy access by train/bus/private car from London or Heathrow airport.....

Room Tip: ask for balacony room facing the seaport....fourth (4th) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu B, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear bhare

Thank you for your positive review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were able to enjoy our restaurant and bar facilities.

I will of course forward your feedback to our team members and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A lovely Hotel with a beautiful selection of breakfast from 5 different types of juices to fresh fruit to a hearty English breakfast, This hotel situated a 3 minute walk from the town or a good 5-10 minute walk to the station however everything is near this place including, Odeon, tgi Fridays, west quay and even Ikea. A short distance from the sea front (see if you can spot a cruise ship)

hotel includes
spa/swimming pool/gym/bar/restaurant

ideal for couples and families, hotel staff are friendly and give the best service at breakfast.

Room Tip: book early. avoid breakfast at 8-8.45 very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu B, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Mike R

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other readers of this site, it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the facilities we have at the hotel.

As you mentioned our location is perfect for exploring Southampton from shopping to walking the medieval walls to spotting cruise ships, we really are at the heart of it all!

I will be delighted to forward your comments to our team members and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Harbour Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed 1 night with my husband in a executive double room and this hotel is lovely. The rooms are a good size and the bed is extra large plenty of hanging space for clothes, hair dryer and iron in room, bathroom good size. Hotel facilities great and breakfast was plentiful. Very close to local shops.

Room Tip: High floor great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu B, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Deb113

I was very pleased to read your reveiw, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We work hard to meet our guests expectations and ensure a warm welcome.

I will forward your comments on to all team members and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Harbour soon.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

After reading lots of negative views of this hotel I was a bit concerned about how this hotel would be ! On arrival it was easy to park in the large car park, check in was a bit slow with only one receptionist at the desk. If you don't want to eat in the hotel other restaurants are close by, the room was lovely, big clean and bed was comfy. There is some refurbishment needed in the bathroom ( shower cubicle ! ) , Only had one bath towel to share between the 2 of us ( glad I used it before the husband ! ) . Breakfast was excellent rarely do you get black pudding and cooked gammon in a hotel. Overall a relaxing stay with friendly staff and comfy room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princesbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhu B, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Princesbold

I was pleased to read your constructive review, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I have noted the points you raised regarding check-in and have spoken with our Reception Manager in order that we may ensure we adequately staffed at busy times. Please accept my apologies that your room was not made up for two guests and that the shower cubicle did not meet your expectations. We have an ongoing maintenance programme focusing on grouting and bathroom areas ahead of our £4million refurbishment which is due to start in the New Year, this will include the full refurbishment of all bedrooms, our restaurant and the bar area and will include the installation of Air-conditioning in all bedrooms and new beds.

I'm delighted that you were able to take advantage of our great location and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Harbour in the future.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Property: Grand Harbour Hotel
Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing