We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use credit card without me knowing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Use credit card without me knowing”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I had a horrible stay at this hotel the staff where rushing and gave us the wrong room there was no hot water to take a shower was told it was fixed after dinner but the next morning no hot water again. When I complained for the second time I found out I was in the wrong room and was told sorry you could not have a shower but you could of had a bath. The hotels web site does not tell you that some rooms have showers but you can not use them have a bath. The hotel were not helpful on giving a refund as I had booked and paid for the room with Agoda . Com
so we left having slept in a cheaper room than we had paid for and not been able to take a shower
And no refund.then ten days later they USED MY CREDIT CARD with out contacting me they had my card details as it was the card I gave them when I checked in for security of any extras the room had already been paid for and we did not have any extras. It's cost me money and time to get this sorted and all they can say is sorry for all the mistakes.Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aglane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Mr aglane1

Thank you for forwarding your stay details so that we were able to investigate the points you raised regarding the unauthorised use of your credit card.

Having personally looked into the situation, I understand that you did in fact speak with our Guest Relations Manager who explained what had happened. However just to clarify for you, your reservation was made via a 3rd party, which I understand is prepaid by you at the time of booking. We receive payment from the 3rd party, so unfortunately we would not have been able to refund you directly for the room rate difference without confirming this or speaking with the 3rd party operator. Once this had been resolved with them after your departure and they had agreed to refund you and we would refund the 3rd party operator unfortunately a refund was made to your credit card in error instead of the card supplied by the 3rd party. This incorrect refund was reversed immediately and applied to the 3rd party card. I trust you have received the refund from the 3rd party operator directly.

I was disappointed to read that you felt you had a horrible stay at the hotel, please be assured I have discussed your comments with our Front Office Manager in order that retraining can be implemented. We endeavour to meet our guest’s expectations and continually work hard to achieve this, always learning from our guest feedback.

I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back and restoring your faith in the Grand Harbour Hotel.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    510
    454
    256
    166
See reviews for
298
775
61
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Went on spa break to this hotel, it was a great package, three course evening meal on first night, 30 minute treatment and breakfast the next morning. Hotel staff were very helpful, the rooms very clean everything you could want, went with three friends we had a fantastic time and would go back any time. A 5minute walk to the shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazza1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Kazza1953

Great to read your positive review, thank you for sharing your comments with other readers of this site.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Friends about to go off on a birthday-present cruise (lucky them!): this had been planned as a birthday celebration with family etc. Owing to a combination of circumstances, only four of us finally stayed (2 doubles, one of them superior). Both beforehand and during the weekend the staff coped admirably with all the chopping and changing, plus providing balloons, birthday cake etc, to give us a stay to remember. Can't thank Tara and Marisel (?spelling?) enough for all their efforts: they really 'went the extra mile' and would be a credit to any hotel.
General comments, good and bad:
- as other reviewers have commented, this hotel needs some revamping, and some aspects are 'tired';
- very good breakfast (an improvement on our previous stay), but can get busy when hotel full;
- first evening meal was frankly poor (was the kitchen struggling??) - calves' liver was inedible - but staff were happy enough to change it for something else at no charge. Relieved to find the second night's dinner was faultless;
- rooms are well-equipped, with iron/ironing board and a real fridge (rather than a useless minibar) and adequate drawer and cupboard space;
- on first night we discovered, on going up to our room quite late, that the radiator wasn't working. Rang down to ask if this was general: night porter who came up assured us that we shouldn't expect heating during night (in November), and that this applied to whole hotel. Discovered in morning that this was hogwash: desk staff happily changed our room to one with a functioning rad.
- most of all, Marisel reserved for us the little "bower" in the bar area for a mini-birthday celebration: unforgettable for both the birthday girl and us;
- check-in and check-out can be lengthy, but staff seem to make themselves available to rectify this (this could be sorted with a bit of forward planning).
Most of all, however, really grateful to the friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterside view. Whether a "superior" is worth the extra is debatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear John B
Thank you for balanced and constructive review. I was very pleased to read that Tara and Maricel were able to assist you during your stay and indeed exceed your expectations, we are proud they are part of the team at the hotel and I will of course be sure to pass on your comments.

I have read all the points your raised and have discussed these with our Management team in order that improve can be made where necessary.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a pre cruise package but was disappointed because of the confusion on what the package included with one computer differing from another. Was dinner included, was this included? In the end we were told that the hotel would honour what was written on the confirmation even though we had paid the full price anyway! Apart from that the staff were great and the hotel was very good. Would probably not stay again because of the hassle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Norman S
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel, I was sorry to read of the confusion regarding the package you had booked, please be assured I have discussed your comments with our Front Office and Reservations Manager in order that retraining can be arranged to ensure all our team members are fully aware of the packages we offer.

I was pleased however to read that aside from this matter you found the staff to be great and the hotel very good.

I do hope that you will reconsider when booking in the area and enable us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We only stayed one night but found this hotel fine, the staff were very good, it does need up dating, and as I have read that is been down in the near future. our beds, pillows and room was of good standard, the breakfast selection was good also, we did not have an evening meal there, the location was also good and we would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nige1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Nige1945

Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Harbour Hotel following your recent stay, I was delighted you found the hotel comfortable and welcoming. We are starting a full refurbishment in the New Year which with an investment of £4million into the hotel, it’s a very exciting time and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back soon.


Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed two nights here for a conference. Odd looking building but with some nice views and a water garden. Pleasant reasonably sized and nicely furnished rooms. Clean and all facilities present correct and working. Friendly and helpful staff. Pretty good food, tried a special order for kedgeree on the second day but no haddock apparently. Eggs Benedict substituted nicely.
Conveniently located for transport links. Rooms quiet enough for a good nights sleep despite a few ship sirens.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Richard G

I was pleased to read your review, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at The Grand Harbour Hotel, we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at the Grand Harbour Hotel. The rooms are big and comfortable, although the furniture is a bit dated. Breakfast is good, with ample choice. Had lunch and dinner as part of the conference and the food was not so good. Staff were very nice, though.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catalan_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Catalan_Traveler

Thank you for your balanced review. I was disappointed to see that you found the food not so good especially after enjoying breakfast, please be assured I have discussed your feedback with our Executive Head Chef for his review.

With regards to the decor of the hotel, we are due to start a £4million refurbishment in the New Year which will include the complete refurbishment of all bedrooms, restaurant and bar plus the installation of air-conditioning in the bedrooms and new beds.

Overall I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Harbour Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Property: Grand Harbour Hotel
Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing